Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

DBS question

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by CaptRog, May 1, 2016.

  1. CaptRog

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    9
    I have a quick question regarding the DBS mod for the P3S. Does the DBS mod improve the fluidity of the FPV signal? With stock configuration, the signal tends to get choppy/laggy at around 300-500 feet. I am hoping the DBS mod will not only improve the distance but also cut down dramatically on these type of effects. Advice from anyone with first hand knowledge would be greatly appreciated!!
     
  2. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    It should improve...the panel has the 2.4 in it for camera as well as the 5.8 for control...mine was improved ...where it would get choppy stock at 3000ft no longer does since i put the dbs ITElite.
     
  3. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,374
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    The main reason I went with it was for a vastly improved video link as I am not concerned with range.
    The internal pucks DJI uses are just not up to it. With the DBS it is rock solid.
     
    Dronego, EddieM and dirkclod like this.
  4. RZR_Jim

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
    I just put the DBS Mod on my P3S 2 weeks ago. Best I could do was 2460 feet with choppy video starting at 700 feet. Now I've hit 8317 feet as my best and video only got choppy twice for a quick second. Very happy.
     
    #4 RZR_Jim, May 1, 2016
    Last edited: May 4, 2016
    Dronego likes this.
  5. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    259
    I got this today, 100% stock ;):

    HealthyDrones.com - Innovative flight data analysis that matters
     
    RZR_Jim likes this.
  6. RZR_Jim

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Colorado Springs
  7. Squirrel!

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2016
    Messages:
    805
    Likes Received:
    259
    Pretty darn solid though it did freeze a time or two...but never lost.
     
  8. dirtbikejoe36

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2016
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    3
    I love my dbs mod. I notice a big time range increase. As far as fpv. I think that had more to do with the device your using


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. CaptRog

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    9
    Thanks for the help!! I have ordered the DBS mod so it should be here in the next couple of days and I am excited to see what it does. I use the Note 4 with the Phantom so I think that should be plenty of power to keep up with the live feed.
     
  10. kingfisher555

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2015
    Messages:
    390
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Capac Mi USA
    My dbs mod works really well I have no complaints. Good investment.
     
  11. Rider15x

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    I installed one today I only got 700ft further than normal? Any idea what I did wrong? Does it matter which port the 2.4hz on transmitter in plugged into the antenna?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Are you flying in a congested area?...on the antenna it doesnt matter what 2.4 port you use (2 & 3)...as long as the 5.8 is in the 5.8 and the 2.4's in the 2.4's your good...you make sure the UF.L cables "snapped" in good?... i would test another area...who knows maybe at that extra 700ft there was some major interference
     
  13. Rider15x

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks I will try in a more calm place my long distance test last week I went to the local high school but the kids were on vacation maybe the wifi the from all the kids messed it up


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  14. CaptRog

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    9
    Let us know how the second test goes, curious to see if anything changes. Counting down the time until mine gets here.
     
  15. Rider15x

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2016
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Will do hoping my case comes in soon so I can strap in down in my side by side. I have a few good spot to bring it no houses for miles. I might try sitting on my roof tomorrow if the weather holds up


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  16. CaptRog

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    9
    Any update Rider15x? Just put mine in this afternoon and so far am rather disappointed. Got maybe 400 extra feet is all. Didn't even reach 3k feet before she was turning around. Granted it is a semi urban area but flying the same flight path bone stock wasn't that much shorter.
     
    Squirrel! likes this.
  17. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    Time for........
     

    Attached Files:

  18. CaptRog

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2016
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    9
    Will it make that much of a difference?! That's just for the WiFi signal right?
     
  19. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT
    You would need a 5.8ghz one for control...yes makes a big difference from all that i have seen and read. I just got one of the 5.8 amps and am waiting for the 2.4's for video side. The people i have talked to have gotten some really really good results with amps and the dbs panel. You can look into the Terminator panel...they have them now for us Standard guys. Those should get really good numbers without amps. Another member here is going to be testing one. I will find the link for that post
     
    dirkclod likes this.
  20. Procharged97

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2016
    Messages:
    993
    Likes Received:
    357
    Location:
    Canterbury, CT