Cracks on p3p after only 15 flights, how to fix?

Reaction score
ImageUploadedByPhantomPilots - DJI Phantom Forum1448719894.381266.jpg

Hi, this is my first forum post and I hope I can get some advice here. I am just getting started with drones and sadly my new phantom has already some cracks in one arm after only 15 flights. I had one minor crash when I attempted to land it on the roof of my car to avoid landing it on the dusty ground, it bounced off and fell upside down onto the same dusty ground I was trying to avoid. There were no cracks yet after the crash, but the motors and gimbal were full of sand and I unscrewed the to clean the dust out under them. Maybe I tightened the screws to much on one side, hence the cracks, in any case my question is how to proceed... It doesn't look like my shell is of the new reinforced once, or at least I cant see the reinforced x, on the other hand it looks like it would be easy to fix with a little epoxy and fiber while changing the whole shell seems rather complicated/expensive, but wouldn't adding the resin to a single prop arm throw it out of balance? Really hope to get some of your experienced opinions here... Thanks for chiming in!

That does not look like the typical shell crack damage. When shells crack, they normally crack close to the head of the screws. Your picture looks more like crash damage and/or incorrect shell installation (e.g. screws too tight). Regardless, you could send your Phantom into DJI to have it repaired. If you'd like to do that, you'll need to call them and get an RMA. I'm assuming they won't do it for free because they will be able to tell you crashed it.

Replacing the shell is certainly not an impossible task. With some patience, the average person should be able to do it. Here's a sequence of videos showing how it's done:

If you decide to repair it yourself, you can purchase a new shell from Amazon, eBay, or directly from DJI.