Concerned about our hobby

Reaction score
I wanted to share this with you all - yes I am new here but I am determined to make a difference in our hobbies and professions involving these awesome birds.

I teach robotics at a school here in WA and am soon to start implementing courses to train people how to maintain these birds once the industry grows. Someone has to maintain, fix and test these PrimeAir birds... Here is a newspaper article about my endeavors.

Additionally, this is a hobby for me.

Unfortunately this is a problem, as I live directly under the left traffic pattern at a local runway. Being a private pilot I also know where these planes are altitude-wide and what they will likely do as they circle. The kid down the street, who is enamored with mine (I hover at 10-15 feet in the front yard for hours, doing figure 8s and practicing) seems to have no end to his resources and plans to get one for Christmas this year. He is not a pilot at 15 or so and will likely have his bird up there in the pattern with the C-172s and Piper Cherokees.

Sooner or later, here or somewhere else, this is going to bring the hobby down. If DJI can put no-fly zones in the guidance app, then the groundwork is laid for forced regulation.

I want to leverage our position in the community as a College and develop some things ahead of time - workshops at hobby stores, etc. it's only a matter of time before these are available at BestBuy and they will walk out of there in droves for $1K and chaos will rule.

Any thoughts?