Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Compass Error?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by KickerM, Jun 12, 2014.

  1. KickerM

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Howdy,
    Looking for help with a problem I've been having with my P2V+ right out of the box, on my P2V I would power it and calibrate compass when Im waiting for GPS lock, never had any issues, now on my V+, I keep getting "Compass Error, Maintenance Required" no matter how many times I calibrate it, I did notice that it goes away after I had I have GPS Lock? Didn't help much that first time out was Sunday with a Kp index of 6 when I started (no i'm not insane, I learned that after the fact, cuz I would keep losing GPS while flying, and Simon posted a nice vid about it, http://youtu.be/jvtuWKT6MYE , when I went to investigate why?)
    So do I just need to wait for GPS lock b4 I calibrate compass, or do I have other issues going on?
    Thanks for the help!
     
  2. D_Tshudy

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2014
    Messages:
    264
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Philly
  3. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    All a bit much when you just got it, but ideally download the Assistant software, install the driver and connect it to the computer to see what the compass is actually showing.
    You don't need change anything, and decline any software upgrades for now.
    Just look through the screens.
    Not unheard of for the wire to be not attached properly - to the compass unit on one leg.
     
  4. KickerM

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2014
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great vid! And thanks for the comments!
     
  5. tb03830

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to let you guys know I had this exact same issue.

    The videos no longer work if you could repost the links that would be great.

    Also know I figured the error issue out. In my case I had a rough landing and it caused the Compass to be loose. I tightened the connection and it now works
     
  6. len750

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2013
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    14
    How did you tighten the connection?
     
  7. RoyVa

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2,246
    Likes Received:
    449
    Location:
    Virginia
    It plugs in.