"Commercial" aerial photo restrictions

Reaction score
I'm no expert....just seeing some laws/restrictions about aerial photography, amd i'm curious...a few years ago, i get a knock on the door, I answer, to find a gal selling a framed photo of my house....no permission to fly over, or photograph my home....just did it, developed it, framed it, and brought it door to door for sale. asked $100! i paid $80!

Now, from what I read...I can't take my drone and take photos of peoples houses and try to sell them. Maybe not even if they ask me too. Is that right?

Attachments

• image.jpg
    image.jpg
    903.8 KB · Views: 416
atomicbob said:
a few years ago, i get a knock on the door, I answer, to find a gal selling a framed photo of my house....no permission to fly over, or photograph my home....just did it, developed it, framed it, and brought it
No permission needed. Planes can fly over your house anytime and anyone in them can take any pics they want and try to sell them if they want. No problems and no laws broken.

But if you are in the US, the FAA would take a dim view of any commercial use of your Phantom.
And they have a broad definition of commercial use.
But because their restrictions go way beyond realistic and are from back in the dark ages, there are many businesses using drones commercially. They just fly below the FAA radar.

There's something wrong when you can fly and take photos legally but the act of selling the photos make your flying illegal.

atomicbob said:
I'm no expert....just seeing some laws/restrictions about aerial photography, amd i'm curious...a few years ago, i get a knock on the door, I answer, to find a gal selling a framed photo of my house....no permission to fly over, or photograph my home....just did it, developed it, framed it, and brought it door to door for sale. asked $100! i paid $80!