Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can't upgrade P3 Pro Controller

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by njet212, May 8, 2015.

  1. njet212

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I just upgraded my phantom 3 pro firmware with P3X_FW_V01.01.0006 and the logged file said success. But when i upgrade the remote it just won't do the update, the red led stays red and after wait few mins it keep on the red led and do long D____ D____ D____

    After i checked the DJI web, apparently there is new firmware P3X_FW_V01.01.0008 and i just download and upgrade my P3 Pro first with success again. But when i upgraded the remote it won't upgrade firmware.

    So i connected the remote with DJI App plus turn on both P3 Pro and Remote, i got warning that i need to update both aircraft and remote. Any body experience something similar?


    Log file from V01.01.0006:

    ========== 2014.01.01 00:00:12 unsynchronized ======
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.01.0006.bin
    Upgrading ...
    Result: Success.

    ========== 2015.05.08 21:22:58 =====================
    Packet: P3X_FW_V01.01.0006.bin
    Result: Abort.
    The firmware on the SD card is identical to or older than the current firmware on the aircraft.
     
  2. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    Try putting it on a thumbdrive and upgrading the remote separately.
     
  3. njet212

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indonesia
    Oh i forgot to mention, i already tried using thumb drive. It did not work.
     
  4. njet212

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Indonesia
    I just format my thumb drive and copy P3X_FW_V01.01.0008 and it updating now! I dont know whats going on but hope this post will help someone who have similar problem
     
    skyhighdiver likes this.
  5. robinb

    Joined:
    May 10, 2014
    Messages:
    2,907
    Likes Received:
    503
    Location:
    A place in the sun
    yes your firmware is up to date.

    read the file
     
  6. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    Seems as if you use the thumb drive just copy the pxe file to the drive not the whole folder and text file and then it works fine
     
  7. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Your thumb drive may have had the wrong formatting initially.
     
  8. skyhighdiver

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2013
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    211
    Location:
    South Dakota
    I reformatted then unzipped all to drive and no go so deleted all but the pxe file and worked right away
     
  9. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Okay, good to know.
     
  10. zincsoldier

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    31
    Could you help me to identify which is the correct format for the thumb drive and micro sd card? Thanks!
     
  11. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    FAT32
     
  12. zincsoldier

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    31
    I have tried to format both FAT32 & ExFAT but neither seem to be working. It didn't show Fail in text file, the text was more like "Abort. File is old or identical" like member njet212 has mentioned before. By the way, is my P3P the second batch so that they have already installed v01.01.0008? I have onlye received it this morning and I am based in Sydney, Australia. One more piece of information, DJI Pilot app on both my iPad and Samsung phone are working flawlessly, the firmware information is also latest. So, basically no need for update out of the box for iOS to work with P3P? As I have gathered information, it says the update is required to use DJI Pilot with iOS. Well, maybe not for my case? Any advice would be appreciated, thanks !!!
     
  13. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,751
    Likes Received:
    1,093
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    You've got the updated firmware installed. Go fly!
     
  14. zincsoldier

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2015
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    31
    Thank you! It is a relieve to know. So I assume that my P3P should be the second or third batch shipping with included with v01.01.0008 update?