Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Can I use an upgraded p2 transmitter with my Phantom 1 (v1.2)

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by ceebee, May 14, 2015.

  1. ceebee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey everyone,

    I'm new around here and like most people I'm sure, I've joined because I'm having an issue.

    I recently purchased this transmitter because I fried my old one (http://www.amazon.com/DJI-Phantom-c...76062&sr=8-1&keywords=dji+phantom+transmitter) and it says in the description that it is compatible with the Phantom 1. It turns out they sent me the upgraded phantom 2 controller with the gimbal control wheel on the top left. The new controller is a 2.4ghz, same as the old stock controller, yet I can't get it to bind to the Rx. Is it simply not compatible or am I missing something?

    Thanks for any and all help,
     
  2. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Hey ceebee, Welcome to the party.

    Does your bird have a little red light inside? It would be easier to see if the battery was outside when powering it up. Maybe there is a button on the board for binding a transmitter?

    I seem to remember folks talking about something like that recently.

    Here is the best way I know of to search within our forum, enter your text in the box in the middle of the page, not at the top. The link is worth hanging on to.
    https://cse.google.com/cse/publicurl?cx=014775389315664725445:ejku2ysgyhi

    Smarter folks will probably be by soon enough. :D
     
  3. ceebee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey There!

    It does have the red light inside. I've opened up the copter, pressed the little button that is supposed to link the TX, it starts blinking, I pull the throttle stick all the way down, then turn on the Tx and nothing happens.

    I found those instructions from the DJI wiki page so hopefully they're correct.
     
  4. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Cool, now you know more than me. I hope you've removed the props... :eek: just in case it starts working.
     
  5. ceebee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0

    Haha of course! I've had this bad boy for a long while. Finally decided to add the gimbal pitch control lever, and what do you know, I fried my dang TX. Bought this new one and its being a pain in the A to get it to work. I'm not even sure if you can still purchase the stock P1 Tx anymore. I hope so, just in case i cant get this one to work.

    Thanks for the quick replies btw. Hoping someone who has solved this issue shows up!
     
  6. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Try that google custom search link I sent, maybe...

    Good luck and you are welcome.
     
  7. ceebee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    After searching around it appears I have two options.. either return the transmitter and replace it with an SR6 transmitter, or buy a new D-BUS receiver to match the new receiver.

    If there are any other available options please let me know
     
  8. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    According to the link you provided at Amazon, you ordered the correct controller. Now you find you need the SR6 instead of the DJ6?

    Have you done your binding like this?
     
  9. ceebee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have tried that. I posted the steps I took in an earlier reply but essentially they are the steps in the DJI manual. After further researching I came upon the conclusion that I need either a new receiver, or a different tx. Hopefully I'm wrong though.
     
  10. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Looks to me like you've done what you can, I'm just shooting in the dark now. Apparently not all P1's are created equal and your new controller will work with some, but not all. At least that's what I've heard.
     
  11. ceebee

    Joined:
    May 13, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    From what I've read some p1 have the dual antenna, while mine has a single antenna. I think that's where this issue is happening. (ppm vs d-bus style RX/TX) I can upgrade to the dual and the new tx should work otherwise I think I'm SOL. Fingers crossed something else comes up
     
  12. radioguy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    I've got a similar issue...I'm using the original Phantom 1 receiver for a F550 and a Quanum Venture-both of these rigs use Naza V2 systems, and both receivers are bound to the same transmitter (the same one that came with my Phantom 1). Now I want to buy two more of the same receivers (this is the one that's got a very small board, only one antenna, and the number "1306" right below the bind button. I don't need another radio, just two more receivers.
     
  13. radioguy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    Just found some on Ebay..bought 3 of them for about $7.00 each. Free shipping. We'll see how this all works out!
     
  14. IflyinWY

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2014
    Messages:
    3,470
    Likes Received:
    939
    Location:
    Where the deer and the antelope play
    Link please.............. :):):):)
     
  15. radioguy

    Joined:
    May 18, 2013
    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
    IflyinWY likes this.
  16. Woody

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2014
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    31