Can I keep flying without updating firmware?

Reaction score
I am not sure where to post this so please excuse me if I am in the wrong place or if this question/issue has been amply covered. I have a P4 that I use exclusively for aerial shots of homes I have listed for sale (I'm a Realtor). Drone is properly FAA commercially registered. Question relates to firmware update. After reading all of the issues people have had, and being new at it all, I am not willing to risk trying to update and running into problems. I don't use the fancier features or do long range missions. I just shoot houses from a safe altitude on wind free days. Do I really need to update? For example I think I read that the update will further restrict or disallow flying near airports. Where I live there is almost a complete blanket of small airports up and down the coast, where most of my clients homes are. So if new DJI firmware precludes me from flying there at all, I'd be sunk. Now it warns me and allows me to accept the warning and go about my business. Any thoughts?

This issue has been beaten to death like a horse. As far as I understand, you DO NOT have to update the AC or RC firmware. The only thing that is required is that you log in to app one time while connected to the internet. You do not need the AC connected to do this. That will eliminate any flight restrictions. However, in your case possibly it could enhance the NFZ area's. That is all they are doing, is trying to keep the NFZ data base current.

If you are happy with the flying, you need not update FW/ SW. Keep flying.

DO NOT...I repeat DO NOT update if you want to continue to be able to fly. I did and it ruined the P4P for me. Couldn't fly the whole time I was on vacation in Florida because of stupid NFZ bug even though I was in green zones.

Make SURE you turn off auto updates for Go 4 app if you still have that option because mine did automatically and I now can't turn GEO feature off.

A