Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Broke the propeller clamp

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Viktor, Dec 26, 2015.

  1. Viktor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    UA
    So, it's cracks easy with no reason.
    Now I'm trying to find another one, but eBay won't help.
    Any advice where to get it?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    What exactly is a propeller clamp? Are you referring to the prop wrench?
     
  3. Timritchieblue

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2015
    Messages:
    132
    Likes Received:
    28
    Its not needed, dont need to crank the props down, snug is fine.
     
  4. Viktor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    UA
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    That's going to be a tough part to find. Perhaps someone will give you their clamp -- since most people don't use them.

    It really should not be needed though. If you're props are that tight on removal, you're tightening them too much. After spinning them on, you really only need to turn them about 1/4 of a full turn. If you're making them tighter than that, you're going to run the risk of potentially damaging the threads and/or cracking the hub. And, if that happens, your props could fall off when your Phantom is in the air.
     
    Viktor likes this.
  6. Viktor

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    UA
    Thanks for advice.
     
  7. FotoGeek

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    52
    Never used mine....
     
  8. Shelbz

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2015
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    Natchitoches to Biloxi
    Mine is still in my box, never needed to use it.
     
  9. AntiiMatter

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2015
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    1
    Wow am I glad I saw your post. Had no idea you weren't supposed to tighten them. I hope I haven't damaged my brand new phantom... How can I tell if I have caused a problem?
     
  10. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    Well, you are supposed to tighten them just a bit. But, just about a 1/4 of turn as I described above.

    Visually inspect the top and bottom of the hubs to ensure there aren't any hairline cracks. Also, look inside of the hub to make sure none of the threads are stripped or malformed in some other way. You'd have to crank on them pretty hard to ruin them.
     
  11. MrPrince

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2015
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    3
    I'll sell you mine for 10$
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,981
    Likes Received:
    5,586
    Location:
    US
    Viktor, if you're still convinced you need the clamp and cannot find one, PM me your mailing address and I'll send you mine. I have one that I'm not using from my P3S.