BEFORE I Crash

Reaction score
when I was flying light airplanes. I had a Ballistic parachute.
When I flew, I would practice what to do in a emergency situation.
With DJI I found many people crashing because they fly in GPS mode and when they loose
GPS the DJI go into ATTI .
What I am doing, (under controlled conditions) practicing lost of GPS
AND what to do if my screen said DISCONNECTED or lost picture.
Am I the only one that is does this??

No you are not alone, I practice atti often, I also fly up to say 150ft in gps, then switch to atti and watch the drift as a gauge of the wind speed up there.

Look, I'm new at this, but I see where you are going here. (I do the same thing with self defense issues). I am not aware that many people crash in GPS mode... (first), and I have had my P4 go into Atti many times (didn't even know what that was at the time!), but didn't have any problem with it. I don't worry about it now, because I am pretty confident in my flying abilities. I fly manually, because I'm a 'stick shift' kind of person.

What I see in crashes (where it's pilot error) is generally a combination of overconfidence/inexperience, or just pushing the limit (going beyond the limits of the depth, going around buildings, losing signal because of a structure, )etc. In one case, a crash happened because the bird landed when it encountered a no fly zone geofence that had been initiated).

And...it's frustrating to me, but stuff happens... I've lost two propellers after checking them thoroughly. I wait to lift off because of this.