Battery Storage Help

Reaction score
Hello, just got a Phantom 3 for Christmas and I read in the manual that it is best to keep your battery at 40-50% for storage.

I am only planning on flying my phantom 1-3 times per week and I want to make my battery last as long as possible.

I read that you shouldn't keep your battery stored at 100% for over 24 hours. I was wondering if I could pull the battery off the charger early when it reaches 50% (according to the third LED). I've already done this once and I put the battery in the drone to see if it was at 50% (it was). Now I'm wondering if this was bad for the battery, and should I have just charged it to 100% and then let it auto discharge? All help will be appreciated because I'm a noob :(

If you are flying three times a week, you should not worry about leaving them at 100% charged.

In fact these batteries are intelligent batteries and automatically starts discharging to safe value in set number of days.

If you are not using them for long then yes you should take care that they don't discharge below 30-40%. That's why a periodic check may be required.

Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots

Thank you for the response :)

So is taking it off the charger early not a good way to get the battery in it's desired 40-50% range? Should I just stick to the auto discharge?

So is taking it off the charger early not a good way to get the battery in it's desired 40-50% range? Should I just stick to the auto discharge?
I have not even taken possession of my P4 yet but to see the maximum life of LiPo batteries in general you should avoid 4 things, keeping them near full charge or discharged, cycling them unnecessarily and heat. So taking them off the charger at 50% should be better than charging them right up and then letting them auto discharge.