Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Battery Error....then fall from 320 feet!

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Sean Poole, Feb 1, 2016.

  1. Sean Poole

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Posted a problem I had on Saturday with losing signal. Was worried that I might have a faulty Phantom. Decided to work with it today for a bit.

    Did a few shorter flights this morning. All went well. Watched everything, loaded all info in Healthy Drones, etc. Decided to take it out at about 5:30, this was the 4th flight today. All was going well, got it out where I was going and turned around and headed back. It was probably 300 ft away when I saw "Battery Error" flashing in red on top of the screen. I never saw this before and was trying to get home as quickly as I could. It was at an altitude of 325' and literally across the street from my house when it went suddenly quiet. Not good. All I could do was watch as it plummeted to the ground about 50' away in the yard across the street. I tried yanking the controls down quickly hoping to restart. No go. Can't explain that feeling I got watching it fall.

    Not sure what would cause this. It basically just shut off in mid-flight. The logs don't even show any problems. They just end at the point of power loss. Can't even view the video, as it must have been damaged in the fall, because it won't play at all. Very troubling, in that I got very lucky it landed in a grassy yard and not on top of a person, car etc. I bought through Amazon and they are sending me a replacement, so I am lucky there also.

    Has anyone else had this happen using the current firmware. I was on 1.6. Also, in case it's important, it was 75 degrees outside. No cold weather.
     
  2. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    Was your battery FULLY CHARGED before flying?
     
  3. Sean Poole

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, battery was at 100% pre flight. I believe it was at about 55-60 percent when error occurred.
     
  4. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,953
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    What firmware were you flying? 1.5 firmware is known to do this. The worse thing to do during battery error, or a low battery is to go FULL THROTTLE to get back as soon as you can. In those circumstances full throttle can pull the voltage down enough to trigger battery protection, sometimes shutting down all power, assuming you were flying with 1.5 firmware. 1.6 was supposed to fix that.
     
  5. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    He already said lol
     
  6. Sean Poole

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    As I mentioned, I was on firmware 1.6
     
  7. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    Can you share the .txt and .dat files?
     
  8. TheLightSpeedz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    366
    Hmmm. Let's see the healthy drones info.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. TheLightSpeedz

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2016
    Messages:
    1,186
    Likes Received:
    366
    Was the battery updated?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,953
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    Oh, so you did. I overlooked it. I need new glasses I guess. LOL
     
  11. John Locke

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2015
    Messages:
    2,953
    Likes Received:
    1,107
    Location:
    Yorba Linda, CA
    That's a good question.
     
  12. Sean Poole

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, battery was updated. I will try to attach the fight log.
     
  13. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,608
    Likes Received:
    742
    Location:
    Australia
    I will comfortably fly over water or open country high and far but flying around my neighbours houses frightens me, for this reason. Hope we get to a cause for this failure. Do you have the .dat file downloaded? There are some members here that manage to get an amazing amount of info from the .dat's.
     
  14. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,219
    Likes Received:
    914
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    The .DAT file will possibly need a Dropbox Address.
     
  15. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Not saying this was your problem but worth saying anyways because I see people here mentioning it frequently...

    Was the battery pushed in all the way till it clicks? I ask this because it seems not everyone gets them in tightly. There are 4 contacts with the battery, 2 for poor & 2 for telemetry. If the 2 tiny spring loaded pins lose connection it is all over as it will fail.
     
  16. MedinaTaylor

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    261
    Likes Received:
    115
    If you post your info to healthydrones.com we can get a better idea of what happened
     
  17. jryser

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2014
    Messages:
    328
    Likes Received:
    118
    Location:
    Indiana
    One thing I learned is if the battery is not fully inserted it may let you take off but then post the error sometime in the flight. Happened to me once and I was thankfully right there to catch the P3P


    Sent from my PT beating heart
     
  18. Sean Poole

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it's funny that you mention that because I am pretty **** when it comes to that. If it doesn't seem to click right, I will remove and re-insert. It was absolutely pushed in all the way.
     
  19. Sean Poole

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Working on uploading the .txt file. Can't seem to load phantompilots.com on my computer, only on my iPad. Any way to load via iPad?
     
  20. Sean Poole

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2016
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0