Battery Auto Discharge Level

Reaction score
Hope this isn't beating a dead horse but... total newb to DJI and have read lots about the battery technology here. My experience with dumb lipos is that they should be stored at about 3.85v per cell. I'm thinking that the DJI smart battery would auto discharge to about the same level? However, I flew my two batteries to 50-55% capacity a couple of days ago and then stored them. My thinking was that this would be a good storage level for the batteries. Now, just took them out to do a flight and find that each one is down to around 33% charge which seems way too low for good storage. Am I missing something in my understanding of how these work? If so, please enlighten me :)

Thanks in advance!!

I flew my two batteries to 50-55% capacity a couple of days ago and then stored them. My thinking was that this would be a good storage level for the batteries.
Yes, that's a good storage level.

just took them out to do a flight and find that each one is down to around 33% charge which seems way too low for good storage
How long were they in storage?

The auto discharge feature will only discharge the batteries down to 65%. That auto discharge process will start after 10 days (by default) and will take an additional 2-3 days to complete (depending on the current charge level of the battery). If the batteries are already below 65%, the auto discharge process will not be initiated.

Are you sure you only flew your batteries down to 50-55%? You could view your flight logs to verify.

The battery manual that I have for the Phantom 3 Standard says to get battery charge to between 40% and 65% if the battery will not be used for 10 days, or more. The auto-discharge will bring the battery down to "below 65%" if the battery is above that level.