Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Argtek Mod and range VERY limited.

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by CarlUK, Aug 26, 2016.

  1. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    Firstly, id like to say I'm new to droning and have just got my first P3S.

    Stupidly while waiting for it to arrive i bought the ArgTek Range extender and fitted it before testing the stock antennae. Don't flame me..... i feel bad enough as it is :(

    The issue is, today I took the bird over to a nice large open air park with very little in the way of obstacles or wifi interference (just trees), and lined it up in a direct line of sight and flew away.

    I cant remember the altitude but i only managed to get to a distance of about 300ft before losing video signal and the bird wanting to fly home.

    Surely 300ft is paltry no? I'm wondering if i should put the stock antennae back in and test it in case i have a defective ArgTek unit. Is there any other way to test?

    Also how and where do i download flight logs?

    Here is a pic of how far the bird got before losing video signal. You can see its pretty wide open space. Nothing much around to cause interference.

    http://carlyoung.co.uk/p3s/rth_range.png

    UK BASED
    PHANTOM 3 STANDARD
    ARGTEK MOD
     
  2. ftomas

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    6
    If you flight with dji go app and android the logs are in this folder
    Dji/dji.pilot/flightrecord
    You can analyse that log at
    Healthydrones.com or at phantomhelp/logviewer/upload

    Enviado do meu LG-H955 através de Tapatalk
     
  3. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm an apple man in afraid.

    Is it the same for iPad/IPhone?
     
  4. Fife-Flying

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    Well I did the same upgrade and my range was boosted by an extra 2-3km and much a strong signal in areas where before i lost signal in short range flights
     
  5. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Something seems wrong.
     
  6. Fife-Flying

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    could be a number of things, but i would make sure that the connectors are in right just in case
     
  7. lalmario

    Joined:
    Jul 7, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    you probably have the training switch still on, not even sure if thats what you call it, something like beginner mode i believe which limits your distance, correct me if im wrong guys but i think you just uncheck that box
     
  8. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0

    I think I'll put the stock rig back on it.

    In your opinion should the stock rig fly further than my photo range?
     
  9. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm almost 100% sure beginner mode is off.

    It limits to 30m and this flies a lot further than that.
     
  10. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  11. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    As long as it is perfectly inserted, then its should stay. But since it's so small, hot glue is the best precaution.

    Did you aim the antenna correctly? 100m is too short for Argtek.
     
  12. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0

    As I was purely trying a line of sight range test I used all three paddle antennae not the long straight one.

    The two outside ones were pointing down and towards the craft and the middle one pointing up towards the craft.

    But to be homest I've also tried them set up the opposite way and it makes zero difference from what I can see.
     
  13. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    Did you make sure the ufl connector is connected to the right port? P3S have 2 2.4Ghz ports and 1 5.8Ghz port. You don't want that to get mixed up. Otherwise, I think it's not connected properly.
     
  14. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Can I post pictures here?

    I'd like to know I've wired this up right :(
     
  15. ftomas

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    6
    Go to those sites and there they explain where the files are on ipad

    Enviado do meu LG-H955 através de Tapatalk
     
  16. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh sorry. Is this android only forum???
     
  17. jeganx

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2016
    Messages:
    284
    Likes Received:
    51
    No no, definitely not Android forum...
     
  18. ftomas

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2016
    Messages:
    90
    Likes Received:
    6
    :)
    English is not my first language ;)

    what a meant was:
    Go to those sites and there they explain where the files are on ipad (the sites i indicate on post 2)
    this ones:
    www.Healthydrones.com and www.phantomhelp/logviewer/upload

    And there you will find where the log files are in the IOS versions, because i don't know.. i'm an android man:rolleyes:
     
  19. CarlUK

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    So i replaced the upgraded mod with the stock mod again,

    And got a max range of 60m... yep 60M before losing video signal.

    It certainly seems something is wrong. Possibly with the actual bird itself.

    Any views?
     
    #19 CarlUK, Aug 26, 2016
    Last edited: Aug 26, 2016
  20. Fife-Flying

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2016
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Fife, Scotland
    hmm have you tried installing the DJI go app ?