Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Aircraft locks if fw upgrade not done?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by alirz, Nov 21, 2015.

  1. alirz

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    So i've had my P3P for two weeks now. My RC is not on latest fw intentionally. However i thought the P3 was on the latest fw.
    Today i turned it on indoors just sitting there while i was checking some settings on the DJI app. After 1-2 minutes, the P3 got solid red LED and the DJIO app said that the RC and the aircraft needed an upgrade and that the aircraft was locked until upgrade was done. It would not even let me start the motors.
    i found that strange.Anyways, i turned the P3 off/on and i was able to start the motors. I wonder if given enough time after powering on and not doing anything,it eventually realizes that theres a new firmware and locks down?

    Is there a way to check the current FW version of the aircraft?
     
  2. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,767
    Likes Received:
    3,479
    This is how you check the firmware version:
    [​IMG]
    So far you can just ignore any notification that tells you that new versions are available and keep flying without updating.
     
  3. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    That is strange. Maybe you couldn't start the motor because the aircraft was warming up? What did u mean by “aircraft was locked until upgrade was done“? Was that the message u read from GO app? Or you assumed thgast because motors didn't start.
     
  4. alirz

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    @Meta4. Thanks thats was obvious enough i guess.

    The message about the aircraft being locked displayed in the DJI go app in a small box in the middle. Like the box you get when you do a compass calibration etc...
    The aircraft was already warmed up at that points. Its been displaying the RC firmware needed for like two weeks now and i've always ignored that. Today was different.Ill check tomorrow to see if i can reproduce this and also check which fw is installed on the P3 itself.
    The aircraft got solid red led lights and everytime i did CSC to turn the motor on, it would display the locked message. i should had taken a picture...
     
  5. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    If u can repeat the outcome, do take picture. This is the first time I've heard of the “lock“ message.
     
  6. QuadcopterFL

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 2015
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Sunny Florida
    Hope this is just a glitch...if not....kiss any future control over upgrades ...bye...bye.
     
    skyhighdiver likes this.
  7. alirz

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    well i tried a few times to replicate the error this morning but cant get that message anymore....dont know what had happened last night.i'm still on the same firmwares...
     
  8. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Simple solution... update! Updates exist for a reason.
     
  9. xardoz

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yes update and "You take the blue pill, the story ends. You wake up in your bed and believe whatever you want to believe." ;)
     
  10. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Sorry... some of us dont live a life of fear of whats around every corner. And that life is a lot more fulfilling!
     
    Meta4 and aka1ceman like this.
  11. xardoz

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2015
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    39
    Oh no fear here, I simply do not always color within the lines. The only thing to fear is fear it self. Its all good we are all here to enjoy our activity.


     
    skyhighdiver likes this.
  12. alirz

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    The p3 is already on the latest firmware. That's why I was surprised to see the message to begin with...anyways I guess there's no issue anymore
     
  13. PhantomFoxtrot

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2015
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    13
    Location:
    Flushing, MI
    Just got the same message while going out for a flight. Wanted to get some of this winter wonderland. Tried everything and wouldn't fly. Got message saying aircraft locked until firmware updates. Guess I'm going home early
     
  14. TC Malker

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2015
    Messages:
    297
    Likes Received:
    85
    Take a picture of the screen.

    For those with “lock“ message. What version of DJI GO are u using?
     
    #14 TC Malker, Nov 22, 2015
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2015
  15. alirz

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    270
    Likes Received:
    25
    Well in my case I'm running the latest dji go app for Android. Though i was able to fly after power cycling the p3. I had also turned data off on my phone just in case..