A Relatively Painless Migration to a Futaba TX 8FG

Reaction score
I've been flying a Phantom 1.1.1 (for practice) and a Phantom 2 with a Zenmuse Gimbal and FPV (for filming) since early January, which given the weather here in the NYC area, has been a challenge in itself. I'm a photographer, not an RC enthusiast.

Over the weekend, I migrated both Phantoms to the Futaba 8FG with FASST (a frequency-switching system that is pretty much interference proof.) The process took about four hours and was relatively painless--thanks mainly to a downloadable data file containing complete Naza-M programming for the 8FG (more on that in a moment).

I live in an urban environment. Flying with FPV, I've been increasingly frustrated with the 300m "safe limit" for the DJI transmitter. Knowing that even at 300m there are probably 500 active wi-fi transmitters between me and my Phantom 2 (with about $2,000 of additional goodies aboard) is disconcerting. Obviously, the farther the Phantom, the weaker the signal from the stock DJI TX, and the greater the likelihood of a flyaway.

I've been thinking about the Futaba 8FG with its FASST frequency-switching system that by all accounts is virtually impervious to radio interference.

At first I assumed that in order to switch to the Futaba 8FG, I'd have to replace the RXs in both Phantoms. In the RC Forums I learned that the dual-antenna RX on both my Phantom 1.1.1 and the Phantom 2 are FASST compatible -- meaning that the existing RX can be "bound" to the 8FG (and presumably all of the higher-end Futaba TXs).

Still after watching various You Tube videos on programming a Futaba, it was obvious that setting up a TX from scratch to fly a Naza M V2 was well-beyond my abilities. Which is when I discovered the Aerial Pixels pre-programmed settings file for the 8FG. Cost: $1!

http://aerialpixels.com/support/futaba- ... ing-s-bus/