Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

2 Motors stopped working

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by Count, Jan 11, 2014.

  1. Count

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    I went to fly today, and the 2 rear motors would not operate properly. No matter what the throttle or control inputs were, the motors would only spin about a constant 50 RPM in a very choppy motion. No crashes or any other issues ever. I reinstalled all drivers and firmware, recalibrated, to no avail. I am going to think about opening to check for a cold solder some where, as has been reported, but I am afraid of voiding the warrantee. Has anyone experienced this or have any ideas? Thanks...
     
  2. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Odd that two would go, but also odd that only two would go if you see what I mean. Unlikely to be cold solder as each motor has its own ESC. You haven't removed prop guards recently, have you? Or tipped over onto the rears in a prior landing?

    Have you tried plugging the aircraft into the Assistant software and checking all the calibration factors (including transmitter) in case the two motors are getting an idle signal for some reason?
     
  3. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    :) Great minds, and all that....
     
  4. Count

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    YES, I have, and oddly the problem happened immediately after. I thought it could be related, and removed the prop guards, but the problem persists. PLEASE tell me more!!! What have I done?
     
  5. Count

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    ****! I thought I checked them carefully, but I guess not. I did go to Ace and buy the next size up in length in order to install them. I felt no resistance when spinning the motors after installation. I presume I am not the first, obviously, but I have scoured this forum and have never seen mention of it. So, given the opportunity, would any of you contemplate upgrading all 4 motors to a better, faster, more powerful, and/or more reliable motor? What would some suggestions be? I presumint there is no saving the motors???
     
  6. Hiway

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2013
    Messages:
    491
    Likes Received:
    2
    My sincere apologies Count...

    *taps plays softly; twice*
     
  7. garygid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange county, CA 92653
    Apparently too-long screws can go right into the motor and cut into the motor windings,
    cutting or shorting the relatively fine wires there.

    The guards usually come with suitable-length screws to use to mount the guard, but
    when removing the guard, the original SHORTER screws must be used to re-fasten the
    motor, since the screws for mounting the guard are too long to be used without the guard.

    So, if that is what you did, and the motors no longer function, that is very likely the problem.

    Could the motor be fixed? Most likely Yes, but the time and labor to do it are far more than
    the cost of a new motor.
     
  8. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    Nice way to ram the bad news down the OPs throat again and have a go at subsequent posters. :roll:
     
  9. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    It was more about tone comparison of the two posts...

    And I don't do handbags. I'm a stay-at-home-dad, I do nappy bags. ;)
     
  10. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Sadly this is happening "n" to many times... I've added a caveat to the Upgrade Firmware instructional where all new PV'ers can at least see it. I wish they'd put it in the instructions with the guards where it belongs (if there are any).

    iDrone :cry:
     
  11. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    A postscript to Count... Consider yourself fatefully fortunate... had the motors not confessed on the landing pad, they might have confessed $1200 later as has been the misfortune of others. Get new motors (get all four just in case the other two also got nicked by the longer screws and set them aside as spares) and get on with flying. The sooner you get it behind you the better you'll feel knowing you've fixed them right (or "properly" in UK parlance).

    iDrone :)
     
  12. Scottrod

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    685
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fleetwood, PA
    Just curious as I've not had the need to take my P2V apart...are the motors, ESC's, and other electronics all hard wired (soldiered)or do they have connectors inside for easy replacement?
     
  13. Count

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2013
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    1
    I am the OP. Yes, everything is "hard wired". All connections are soldered. I took the cover of my P2V after the "bad news" I received earlier in the thread. Before biting the bullet and buying new motors, I am going to remove one of the good motors and replace it in the position of one of the "toasted" motors, just to be certain. It looks to be a simple job: 3 wires to unsolder and resolder. Any advice on the replacement motors, as I earlier asked?
     
  14. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    It's early and few have upgraded motors unless they had to replace damaged ones. Some have tried Tiger motors, you can read about one of those attempts here: http://phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=5382&p=39326 the choice is entirely up to you. FYI replacement Vision motors are in stock now at most dealers. Choose wisely.

    iDrone
     
  15. garygid

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2013
    Messages:
    294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Laguna Hills, Orange county, CA 92653
    A beginner, like me, would not know how to choose wisely on motor
    replacements. Tiger or OEM, which is better, and why, please?
     
  16. iDrone

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2013
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Los Angeles, California USA
    Read Jax Quad's post to find out "why", then send him a PM to find out if he ever resolved his problems after installing Tiger's to find out "which". He's the first to try 3rd party aftermarket & publish his results.

    iDrone