Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

zenmuse. upgrade board. mac computer. go pro only faces down

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by Ksc, Sep 27, 2013.

  1. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Just connected the zenmuse. I had a hobby shop connect the upgrade board for me. I only have mac computers in the house. Currently the zenmuse is only pointing the camera down. the 7ch channel tilt that came with the upgrade board does nothing. Do I need to get it connected to a computer to get it to work? I'm hoping you say no since I'll have to wait until monday to get in front of a PC.
     
  2. Mike1390

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: zenmuse. upgrade board. mac computer. go pro only faces

    Yes you need a PC to update the firmware and activate the gimbal switch and calibrate your X1 ch.
     
  3. deluge2

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2013
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    2
    Re: zenmuse. upgrade board. mac computer. go pro only faces

    Yes you need to connect vis USB and run DJI Assistant SW. But no, you don't *have* to use a PC.

    There are alternatives to using a PC, though they may not help the OP at the moment. A search of this and other forums (multirotorforums.com, rcgroups.com) for DJI Phantom and Mac OS X will turn up reports of using Parallels, Fusion, and Bootcamp to run Windows on Mac Hhw. You may need to fool around some to get the Windows drivers to install (may need to have Phantom connected via USB first to get drivers to install?). So you don't need a separate PC IF you are willing to use one of these to run Windows alongside OS X (1st two) or alone as dual-boot (Bootcamp). See for example [http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1579606]

    I faced this several months ago and ended up just buying an inexpensive Sony laptop. I don't really want to take my MacBook Pro into the field, but I view the PC as 'expendable'. Of course you might never need to attach to a computer to reconfigure or troubleshoot in the field, depending upon your flight profiles and objectives.

    Steve

     
  4. MrMediaGuy

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: zenmuse. upgrade board. mac computer. go pro only faces

    Just to be clear on a couple things since this is a special case:

    • With the upgrade board, there is no GCU (it's embedded), so there is no firmware upgrade process yet. The current embedded firmware that will show on the Upgrade tab in NAZA Assistant (1.0.0.9) is the most recent. Nothing to upgrade there.
    • With the Zenmuse, you do not turn on the gimbal control in NAZA Assistant. That's for third-party gimbals that need pitch and roll data from the NAZA on the F1 and F2 channels, which the Zenmuse does not. On the Gimbal tab, leave it turned OFF.
    You will however need to run the NAZA Assistant (either on a PC or Mac) to be able to calibrate your X1 channel, as mentioned. Hope that helps.
     
  5. Mike1390

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2013
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: zenmuse. upgrade board. mac computer. go pro only faces

    my upgrade board came with 3.14 not 4.0
     
  6. blunde

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: zenmuse. upgrade board. mac computer. go pro only faces

    I just upgraded my Phantom with GCU and the H3-2D gimbal

    When i turn the 7th channel on the controller nothing happens.
    Is there any way to set the value of the X1 manually?
     
  7. MrMediaGuy

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2013
    Messages:
    171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Re: zenmuse. upgrade board. mac computer. go pro only faces

    There is not -- but in your case I don't think that would work anyway. If turning the pot doesn't move the gimbal then either something is wrong in your install, or the Zenmuse or the GCU/PMU are defective. I would go back and make sure all the connections are correct, especially the CAN BUS cable between the PMU and the GCU, as well as the 8-pin connector between the GCU and the Zenmuse. Something is not right.
     
  8. blunde

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2013
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Re: zenmuse. upgrade board. mac computer. go pro only faces

    I've checked all the cables, even replaced the naza.

    Seems like the problem is within the controller itself. Like it doesn't transmit the 7th channel.

    I imported the default settings from DJI and now the camera is pointing forward, but still no movement when turning the dial.

    Maybe someone can make a config-file with the X1 calibration pointing a little down?