Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Wind speed

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Dima, Nov 16, 2015.

  1. Dima

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    4
    Hi,
    I'm wondering if DJI Go application shows wind speed? I'm sure when I just bought the drone and played with the application at home I've seen that option on the screen. But now when I'm flying I don't see it any more. Is it there or I'm just dreaming?
     
  2. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    It doe not show the wind speed.
     
  3. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    Speaking of wind speed, I did not like flight behavior today in moderate 8mph wind. DJI needs to fix the forward/reverse drifting thing. I hope they do it for the next update. It was pulling so badly off line that at times I wasn't sure which way the nose was facing. Not cool.
     
  4. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    You may need to do an IMU calibration and stick calibration.
     
    III% Streve likes this.
  5. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Thats you, not the FW! they are rock solid right now at 20MPH EASY!
     
    Garret Pearl likes this.
  6. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    I know we have a little cheer leading group here. That's fine- I'd like to become part of it. This is a known issue and I hope DJI is taking it seriously.
     
  7. III% Streve

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    1,756
    Likes Received:
    515
    Its not a known issue. Its an isolated issue that is easily resolved with the proper effort.
     
  8. Goldni

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2015
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    40
    It's a huge issue with 1.4. I know, because I have 1.5 and it fixed it.
     
  9. shockwave199

    Joined:
    Dec 19, 2014
    Messages:
    1,066
    Likes Received:
    405
    HUH! I see no 1.5! Are you doing beta??

    Tahoe Ed and Blade only said to do a compass calibration and forward/reverse runs to clear it. I have done that and it did seem to work. But today in winds it got ugly again.It may act up with very slow forward movement on the stick. I have been working on slow flying lately and that's when it seemed to kick in.
     
  10. bobmyers

    Joined:
    May 10, 2015
    Messages:
    3,611
    Likes Received:
    866
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    This is the latest FW upgrade on the DJI site
    Phantom 3 Professional Firmware v1.4.0010
     
  11. JoeyJoe

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2015
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    103
    Location:
    South Florida
    I have the same issue on both of my quads since the last FW update.
    They were rock solid prior to the update.
     
  12. bbfpv

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,744
    Likes Received:
    1,092
    Location:
    Long Island, NY
    the drifting is, in fact, a know issue w/ 1.4. multiple accounts and tests to prove it on rcg. I have not heard whether the ninja 1.4 update fixes it or not, but those running the beta 1.5 claim that it's fixed.
     
  13. Skypicswa

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2015
    Messages:
    130
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Western Australia
    Would be a great feature
     
  14. B- Scene Films

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2015
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    112
  15. olof Ekbergh

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2015
    Messages:
    252
    Likes Received:
    137
    Location:
    Mt Washington Valley
    Another way to get wind speed is just to change to atti mode, let the MR drift and read the speed telemetry. It also shows you the direction, by observing the MR.

    I always like to take off in Atti and fly up to the hight I will be using,that way you get a good idea of what conditions are like. Often it is much windier up 100' and often in a different direction as well. Flying in atti will also give you a good idea of where the shear between wind layers are.

    I think it is too easy to become numb to the elements always flying in GPS. A good pilot can spot where there may be bad vortexes at the edge of woods or around buildings and hills, as well as the effects of thermals, they cause winds, sometimes very strong, out of every quarter. You should learn how to read the wind and anticipate where you may get in trouble or the auto pilot in the MR will have difficulties.

    Flying low wing loading RC planes is a great way to learn about the atmosphere we fly in. You become aware of trouble before you get in too deep. It is amazing to see how even in a fairly light wind 12mph or so, there will be strong vortexes downwind of buildings or even trees that can flip a model right over. Learn to anticipate and stay out of trouble.

    Have fun and fly safe. This is a great sport...
     
    Mario_SB and III% Streve like this.