Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Will this Turnigy 4000mAh 3S 30C Lipo Pack Work?

Discussion in 'Phantom FC40 Discussion' started by Motocrossed, Jan 1, 2015.

  1. Motocrossed

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2014
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
  2. LuvMyTJ

    LuvMyTJ ADMINISTRATOR
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2014
    Messages:
    6,811
    Likes Received:
    4,376
    Location:
    Live! From New York!
    Hello & welcome to the forums.

    The size & weights are different. The one you want to use (30C) is longer, taller and weighs more. Will it fit?
     
  3. Tallyrver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl.
    I just did the Multistar 4000 mah Mod to my Fc40. With just a little trimming around the battery door ,it fit right in. :D

    Wayne
     
  4. lostkiwi

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    No it won't. At 112mm long the 10C is tight as it is. The 30C is another 30mm longer.....
     
  5. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet

    Can you let me know the time you get from this battery. The reviews for this have been mixed. Some say they get 20 minutes and others say they get 12 minutes. It is the reason I have not purchased any or modded the quad yet. If I can get 20 minutes, then it is worthwhile.
     
  6. Tallyrver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl.
    i was surprised how easy it was to get it to fit,i cut more than i needed. but still doesn't show . i'll be flying it this weekend. without the 4000 i am getting 10 min,we'll see if it gets better
     
  7. Tallyrver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl.
    I added a few goodies to my FC40 this week :mrgreen:
    She got an iOS mini ,pmu ,and the 1.2 transmitter. With the stock battery with 9 inch props I got 8 min with everything running off the main battery. Next I tried the 4000 mah battery ,with everything the same I got 15 min. I was getting a lot of noise (harmonics) on the Fpv monitor . I did a little searching and found out it was coming from the esc's . I added a small lipo to the rear of the Phantom and ran the transmitter and gimbal off of it. By then the 4000 was charged , I tested again. This time the noise was gone and I got over just over 17 min till the on screen alert came on.

    Looks like I'm going to order a couple more battery's :mrgreen:
     
  8. Beario

    Joined:
    May 9, 2014
    Messages:
    355
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Hovering at 400 feet
    17 minutes is pretty good with all of those goodies you attached. Where did you buy your parts? I want to attach the SJ4000 cam I have, but I have to find the right cable.
     
  9. Who Dat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Noob here with my new Christmas present... Is this the same battery you mention above?

    http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... ouse_.html

    Can I run a 4S battery? Looks kind of "square" on the B-C dimension.
     
  10. Tallyrver

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2014
    Messages:
    336
    Likes Received:
    42
    Location:
    Tallahassee Fl.
  11. dtitus6297

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2014
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    44
    Gotta use a 3s, 4s will fry ur new toy. I am about to order some multistar 4000's I've heard good things all over
     
  12. Who Dat

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why?
     
  13. lostkiwi

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2014
    Messages:
    124
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UK
    Its a higher voltage. 3s is 11.1v, 4s is 14.8.....