Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Where's this wire go? LOL - Thought I knew

Discussion in 'FPV (First Person View)' started by rctoyguy, Aug 28, 2014.

  1. rctoyguy

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Got all the goodies in today - IRC 600mw 5.8, IOSD Mini, plug-n-play cable, 7 ch Black Pearl...

    There was absolutely zero instructions with the plug-n-play cable - I've got this far and it all makes sense - except for this one cable/plug. Please take a look and let me know what I'm missing here. Yeah, I know it's something obvious as heck, I just don't see what it is. (it appears to be power to the VTX.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    I'm also installing the H3-3D now as well - if it were already installed and working, this might make more sense to me, I don't know.
     
  2. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    There should be a 4-strand cable coming out of the Phantom's leg, with brown/red/brown/yellow wires and no connector on the end. Follow that cable inside to where it plugs in to the Phantom's mainboard...unplug it and replace with the plug in your pic.

    That port on the mainboard feeds power for a video transmitter, and the video feed that goes to the iOSD and on to the transmitter.
     
  3. PhantomPhreak

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2014
    Messages:
    312
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    The OC in CA
    It goes on the controller board inside the P2. Will check and edit when I get home to get you more info. Be careful with the transmitter, do not power up without an antennae install. It will blow it up.
     
  4. rctoyguy

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2013
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Birmingham, Alabama
    Thanks - I woke up and realized what was what... All hooked up and bench test works. Just put it all back together and going to re-read how to set/adjust the gimbal.

    Also - when I plugged the iosd in to the computer - what was I supposed to do? Isn't that just to shift the OSD around if it's not fitting on your monitor? Mine lined up great, so I didn't do anything.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    If connecting it to the OSD assistant doesn't prompt you for a firmware upgrade, there's nothing else you need that software for.