Where do you power your FPV from?

Reaction score
I was wondering what you guys are using for power supply on your FPV gear?

I have a brushless gimbal on my Phantom which I power from the main Lipo and get around 5-6 minutes from it before I pull the plug. Normally I put around 1700-1800 mah back into the batteries.
Recently I put my 200mw transmitter on the top of the Phantom and also tied it into the main battery (Charge taps) and tried it but get the flashing RED leds after just a couple of minutes. I'm pretty sure the little transmitter doesn't even use an amp so why am I suffering so badly from voltage drop?

I don't have a gimbal but power my fpv tx from the balance plug on the main battery, my tx and antenna only weighs 55g but cuts just under 2 minutes off my flight time. From 10 to 8 minutes only change being tx on and connected, weight is negligible I think and so most of that will be the extra drain it takes.

A friend of mine with fpv and h3 2d gimbal has got one of these extra for his video tx, not sure if thats the place he got it but its the first link I found searching that battery.
batteries.https://www.nitrohouse.com/mobile/produ ... emid=13150

It apparently fits to either side of the main battery inside the phantom and should get about 45 min of fpv time out of it using a 500mw tx or he may have 600 I cant remember. Main reason he got it is he was also getting noise when powering of the phantoms power and others said this helped them.

I think I will get one once I get a gimbal as loading fpv and gimbal off the one battery seems a bit much.

I power my FatShark VTX from balance plug using FS filter:

http://www.dronesvision.net/en/acce...-002s-filtered-balance-lead-power-supply.html
fat-shark-p-fs-002s-filtered-balance-lead-power-supply.jpg

jumanoc said: