What do you guys use to edit?

Reaction score
Hello folks!
I've seen many people talking about different software for editing video & pictures. I just wanted to make a thread to kind of see what you all are using. As for me:

1) Photo: CS3 & Aperture/iPhoto
2) Video: iMovie & YouTube

I need to get better video editor but my background is in graphic design and never had to get one. If you guys have any recommendation, please let me know!

Have a good & safe flying ^_^

photos: lightroom
video: premiere pro cs5

Sony Vegas Pro 12. I've been using Vegas since 9 with no problems and use it every day.
However I can't for the life of me get a good down convert from the Vision camera to standard DVD. 1080 is always hard to get good quality down convert to DVD so for work I shoot 720 which converts nicely. Unfortunately I'm in Pal land and there is no 720 Pal on the Vision.
If anyone has any tips I'm all ears?

SpikeFinch said:
Sony Vegas 13

Been using Vegas for years...

Vegas 13 also comes with Hitfilm 2
http://hitfilm.com/ultimate

I didn't know it came with Hitfilm. Thanks.
I've been holding off upgrading waiting for a special. Last upgrade only cost $150.
Any tips on down converting 1080 to standard DVD?

When you open up your video in Vegas, let it open as default 1920X1080
Then go into:
File
Properties
Template
Change it to your new lower settings. I pick NTSC DV Widescreen (720X480)
But I am not using PAL, so not sure how well that would convert. The problem is the ratio is so different and the frame rate is different, so expect choppy video.
1920X1080 ratio .56
720X480 ratio .66
720x576 ratio .8

There are a few softwares out there that convert for you, but you will not get good results (choppy video)

I heard most PAL players these days play NTSC..