Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard Well that's knackered it....

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by wolvesfc, Feb 24, 2016.

  1. wolvesfc

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, England.
    Someone please tell me this is an easy fix... :([​IMG][​IMG]
     
    #1 wolvesfc, Feb 24, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 26, 2016
  2. buford

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    146
    I've looked at an extra camera I have, and both of my connectors are still attached, so I cant tell HOW they're attached. Solder I would assume, but you'd need a tiny soldering iron to het in there. That's my only suggestion, look at the solder joint and see if you can replicate it. If you cant maybe a computer repair place? And if not that, a new board for the top of the gimbal. But I would try like hell on the first two before I resorted to the last one.
    Maybe drop a dab of solder on the socket while its out of the gimbal, then stick it in and heat it till it welds itself to the connection? IDK.
     
  3. wolvesfc

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, England.
    Any idea what it does? Everything seems to work ok...
     
  4. buford

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    146
    It's going down into the gimbal, so I assume it runs something, but I don't know what exactly. There's a black one and a grey one, and I'd hope dji wouldn't just put wires on there that don't do anything....although they might. If you could find a wiring diagram in the standard you could pin it down, but that may be more trouble find that than having a go at soldering it.
     
  5. wolvesfc

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, England.
    I'm trying to speak to support online but they are as much use as a knitted condom.
     
  6. buford

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    146
    Yeah, and a loose knitted one at that....
     
  7. wolvesfc

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, England.
    So does anyone know what this cable is for??
     
  8. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    is anything NOT functioning when reassembled minus it?
    gimbal , camera ,video, telemetry, etc.

    support has no tech help it is only there to get info to send in for repair etc. way to complex to fix via phone call...

    if EVERYTHING works ok it is possible it is used for advanced model or Lightbridge power etc. that is not on standard
    if so how lucky can you get?
     
  9. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
  10. wolvesfc

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, England.
    Illina likes this.
  11. wolvesfc

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, England.
    Camera works fine, gimbal works. Status says normal. IMU normal. Gimbal calibration works. Camera records. Live stream works. Don't really wanna try flying until I know for sure though.. Emailed Europe support so hopefully they'll get back..

    Hopefully I'll soon have some previously unknown info then...

    Thanks.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  12. buford

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    146
    Well, I for one would like to know what it goes too, if you find out, would you post it? I know it has nothing to do with trailer brakes or stereo hook ups.....LMAO
     
  13. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Girard. ohio

    too funny! yea I didn't want another quad to rear end you!


    p3 wiring diagram - Google Search

    p3 wiring diagram - Google Search


    the p3pro has a fan in the gimbal for cooling,

    While I would be curious about it, if all functions test and works ok , maybe try a short low flight , I would think if it is a critical component it would become apparent rather quickly
     
    #13 kirk2579, Feb 25, 2016
    Last edited: Feb 25, 2016
  14. kirk2579

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,341
    Likes Received:
    263
    Location:
    Girard. ohio
    hey buford that is where I hooked up my System!

    when I fly its like "Apacalypse Now" huey's coming at the the cong!
     
  15. ack

    ack

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2015
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    9
    Antena cable with (unfurtunatly) pcb connector. Needs to be soldered back.
     
  16. buford

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2015
    Messages:
    757
    Likes Received:
    146
    flight of the Valkyrie?
     
  17. wolvesfc

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, England.
    Please could you explain further?
     
  18. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    Turn the RC and the drone on. Preferably, in an open area. Separate yourself from the copter as far and safe as possible. Walk about 300-400 ft. away and see if everything but flight still works normally.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  19. wolvesfc

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2016
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    62
    Location:
    Wolverhampton, England.
    So I can't fly yet?
     
  20. TWP723

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2016
    Messages:
    400
    Likes Received:
    140
    Location:
    Abingdon, Md.
    I wouldn't.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app