Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Weak signal

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by articandy, Aug 31, 2016.

  1. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    I've just updated to the new firmware after not using my drone for about 6 weeks flew today and I got a message saying weak transmitter signal it was only about 200 ft from me in an open field in then said aircraft disconnected then did a rth any ideas it's been great upto now! I updated the batteries too


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Try flying again in the same location to see if it repeats the same issue. If it does, try flying a few hundred meters from there and see if it has the same problem. I had this issue in one spot in an area I'd flown in many times; moved 25m and no problems....
     
  3. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok thanks I'll try again later today same as I've flown here mostly all my flights.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  4. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Great. Hopefully it should be fine. :)
     
  5. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just tried again with a different battery in a different location middle of a field arse end of nowhere and same result. I was underneath it about 200ft up and weak controller signal then aircraft disconnected!! Could it be the update I did but if so more would have the same issue?? If it's created a fault is it covered from where I bought it or Dji it's only 7 months old with 8 hours flight time so frustrating I have a private party I need to film end of September


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  6. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    You were underneath it? We're the aerials horizontal? What FW are you running on the controller and AC? Have you completed a calibration of the IMU/Compass etc.?
     
  7. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    I noticed more and more starting to post saying their range is less and slower. A couple loaded old firmware back in the A/C and said all returned to normal.
     
  8. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    I had the ariels as per the instructions slight angled what does fw and ac mean sorry


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    Ok I've just downgraded to 1.8.80 so will try again tomorrow and see if it returns to normal!!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. flyNfrank

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2014
    Messages:
    4,231
    Likes Received:
    915
    Location:
    Indy, USA
    FW= Firmware
    A/C= Aircraft
    R/C= Remote Controller
     
  11. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    Just tested and same issue so presuming not a firmware problem. Do I go to dji or back to the seller as its 7 months old?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    dmaxdrone likes this.
  12. Numone

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2016
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    240
    Location:
    Surrey, England
    Hmmm... Last couple of things to try....
    1. Do a full calibration of the IMU. Id've thought that shouldn't make any difference to the range, but worth a shot anyway?
    2. Do you know anyone else locally with a Phantom 3? If so, I suggest you link their R/C to your A/C and see if it flies OK? If it does, that'd narrow it down to an R/C fault, which should be repaired/replaced under warranty.
    Good luck once again!
     
  13. CleethorpesKid

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2015
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    10
    This is how you are supposed to have them:


    [​IMG]
     
    Brandten, Trinimon and Doink like this.
  14. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    Yes thanks I tried that spoke to dji today and it's going in for investigation and fix will keep you updated!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  15. articandy

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2016
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    8
    Apparently it was the controller which had developed a fault they are supplying a new one and will be delivered back to me tomorrow very happy with the service!


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots