Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

vtx Filter/Power Supply Question

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by TechJunkieRC, Feb 25, 2014.

  1. TechJunkieRC

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    I can't seem to find a clear answer on this so here goes. I have the Fatshark Predator V2 kit. It has a 250mW vtx and a fitler/power supply adapter.In getting the Phantom ready for travel I would like to clean it up, especially since I am hanging more stuff (ie Flytrex) off of it. Is there any reason I could not put the fatshark filter/power supply adapter inside of the Phantom while I have it apart? I am not aware of any issues and I am not looking to create any new ones. I would like to install the vtx inside as well but I do not have the necessary bulkhead sma connector on hand to accomplish this right now. Plus, I would like to install the iOSD mini some day so internal space will be a premium at some point.

    Thanks

    Brian
    TechJunkieRC
     
  2. Gizmo3000

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2013
    Messages:
    1,859
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sherman Oaks, CA
    The real question you should have asked was: Do I need the Filter/power Supply in the first place
    to which the answer is: nope!

    Many of us simply use the Aux Power to directly power the Fatshark Tx.
    just snp the red and black cables and use male/female JST's so you can easily connect and disconnect.
     
  3. amrflyingdude

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    I recently was in front of this same question. Due to weight I went ahead and removed it, no difference whatsoever and I have the same kit you do. This filter is only a CAP who reacts to interference, it works on certain frequencies but you will not notice much by not having it.

    At least in my case I am not missing it at all.
     
  4. TechJunkieRC

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Very good gentlemen! I thought, incorrectly it appears, that it also lowered the voltage from 12 to 5 for the vtx and camera. I know the camera runs a lower voltage since I am running the 600TVL. I just looked at the vtx and it in fact does say 6-17v on the power in side. You learn something new every day! Not a big weight savings but a savings none the less!

    Thanks again!
     
  5. amrflyingdude

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2013
    Messages:
    335
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well. Not probably a big time saver but it helps. I fly now 30 to 45 second longer since I removed the filter and the TVL600. I use my go pro now.

    Heard complaints of it freezing and such, not me, I have had nothing but an amazing experience using my go pro for FPV. also comes with an added benefit, since it feeds a wide farm to the googles I see a black stripe on top and bottom on my FPV, right where my EZOSD puts the flight info and makes it even easier to see!
     
  6. TechJunkieRC

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    Any difference in video quality with the filter out of the circuit? I guess I am in the camp of why did they spend the time and money to include it if it isn't beneficial? I am too close to leaving on vacation with the wife and Phantom to really make too many changes to my Phantom that I don't have time to test. I would not think that this one would be a deal breaker. This is my first FPV setup so I am still learning!

    Thanks again for the time to reply!