Various Questions

Reaction score
I've been flying a Phantom for a few months now using the Zen muse gimbal and GoPro Hero 3. I also just upgraded to the FPV system from DSLRPros.com. Got a few questions:

1. Is there any way to control the GoPro via the Futaba transmitter? For example, when using the FPV goggles provided by DSLRpros.com, it shows me the GoPro recording info. That's great, but it would be so much better to be able to start/stop recording from the Futaba.

2. The paperwork provided with the DSLRPros kit showed the Futaba utilizing one of the top right switches to toggle the gimbal orientation. This is not working for me. Any thoughts on how to get that to work? The gimbal rotation knob is working, just not the switch for toggling the gimbal between two positions.

3. The FPV goggles reception seems poor, but I don't have any prior experience to compare it to. For one, the goggles and remote monitor flicker a lot, even when the Phantom is nearby. Also, the range seems to be maybe 500 feet. After that it's hit or miss. And wind causes the signal to flicker substantially. Is all of this normal?

4. I thought I had read somewhere that you can set a GPS focus point that would allow the Phantom to target for "wrap around" shots. For example, let's say I want to fly the Phantom around a tree and have it always facing the tree. Is there a way to facilitate that kind of shot by using the Phantom's flying modes, waypoints, GPS, etc? Obviously, I can make that flight maneuver manually, but it can be tricky to get the rate of lateral movement to match the rate of rotation.

Thanks!

mindbend said:
I've been flying a Phantom for a few months now using the Zen muse gimbal and GoPro Hero 3. I also just upgraded to the FPV system from DSLRPros.com. Got a few questions: