Tips for "professional" quality video

Reaction score
Does anyone know of a good source (website, etc) with tips and how-to's of taking professional quality video's wit the Phantom's?

Needing ideas like how-to keep the focus while performing a fly-by, etc. Anything to help make my videos look less like home videos would be appreciated. I understand that editing will be needed afterwards, but its the shots I need help with.

Thanks

It really boils down to a lot of practice, a decent FPV and a GoPro.

Actually it sounds more like the "track points" the video was referring to is in regards to the Adobe After Effects program. :(

Maybe its not my video that is lack luster then? :)

It's all about practice. A lot of people do video professionally(like me), so the video part is easy. I've been doing video production professionally for 10+ years and have been flying RC for twice that long. There is no secret sauce, it just takes time and practice.

Thanks for the advice. Hopefully one of these days I will feel good enough about my vids and submit one for display.

Once you determine your shot, it is important to take it at the right time of the day. I'm no professional, but it seems that the best time of the day to take the shots is 1 to 2 hours after sunrise and 1 to 2 hours before sunset. Mid-day shots just don't provide the best contrast.

The first thing to understand about taking a good looking shot is to know what the shot is you are trying to get and how it fits into the overall video. Shooting with a purpose is what you want to do. Flying around and getting just "some" shot is how you waste time without getting better at the craft of cinematography.

The best thing to do is understand what makes good camera work in general and what kind of shots are used in productions then go out and practice those with the phantom.

If you want to see some camera moves that work you can look here - http://www.hollywoodcamerawork.com/hm_index.html