Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Tablet with or without data for P3A?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by karamazin, Feb 9, 2016.

  1. karamazin

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    Hi, I am in this business the beginner. I'll have to buy Phantom3 advanced and I need advice if I should buy a tablet with data or without them. And about which features will I lose, if I have a tablet without data. Thank you all for the answer.
     
  2. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    If you mean a tablet without cellular connection....

    1. With cell data - It will download and use google maps dynamically during flight. It can immediately upload flight data to sites as well as stream live video to youtube. It will also download geofence data as well as NFZ.
    2. Without cell data (wifi only) - No map download during flight. However if you load the apps while connected to your home wifi, you can pre-cache the maps of where you are planning on flying. Its easy and not a big deal. You also won't be able to stream live to youtube. It also won't upload data immediately after the flight. But it can be synched later when connected to wifi.

    Other than the live maps, not much else you will loose or gain during flight with the choice of a cell or non-cell tablet.

    Just posing another option here, if you really really want live data during flight, you could enable the wifi hotspot on your cell phone and connect your tablet to it when out in the field. This would allow live streams and live maps with a non-cell-data tablet.
     
    karamazin likes this.
  3. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,597
    Location:
    US
  4. JerichoVirus

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    135
    Likes Received:
    33
    Location:
    Bethesda

    Quick question on this, I was wondering about wifi on the field. I thought they suggested wifi to be off while your flying? I accidentally left my wifi on during my last run and kept getting "image transmission signal weak" during the flight. I have done a 10k run with no issues however, when I had this on, I was barely getting 2.5k out.
     
  5. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    WiFi is in the same frequency band as the RF for the RC and LightBridge. Thats why it was suggested to disable it, thus freeing up the channel for use by the drone.
     
  6. karamazin

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2016
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Czech Republic
    My idea is buy tablet Nvidia Shield K1, is it O.K.? And without cell data, can I in DJI go watching flight records?
     
  7. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    That is the tablet I plan to go with (currently using another android device). The logs can be upladed when you get back home and connect to wifi.
     
    karamazin likes this.
  8. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    I'm still a bit confused about this - most pilots switch their cell phones to aeroplane mode, which means no data is coming in, is that right? Do you have to download a map with aero mode off first and then fly once you've got the map and can turn on aero mode, or will the map download regardless?


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    Simply open the app (Go/Litchi/Autopilot) and use the map while connected to data (either cell or wifi). Scroll to the area where you will fly, zoom in and out. This makes it load the map images and data into the cache. Then you can go airplane mode (which I do on my Galaxy S5) when flying. This turns off all the radio transmitters on the phone so they do not interfere with the RC trying to listen for the RF from the Phantom.
     
  10. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    That's what I suspected - so too bad if you're in an area where you suddenly discover your cell coverage isn't so good, LOL. Still probably best to load maps at home if possible then.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  11. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    It sill still fly. You just won't have the nice google earth map images to look at.
     
  12. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    19,020
    Likes Received:
    5,597
    Location:
    US
    You should only switch to airplane mode when out flying.
     
  13. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,747
    Likes Received:
    3,459
    The flight logs are stored in the app without any need for uploading anything.
    Maps are really of very little use while flying and if you don't have maps, it shouldn't make any difference.
    But if you really want maps, it's simple to cache the maps you want while you're at home using wifi.
     
  14. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    Really? Aren't they more helpful than just a black screen, so you can see the arrow and position of your bird?
     
  15. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    Yes, sorry, I meant they switch to airplane mode when they're about to fly.
     
  16. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,747
    Likes Received:
    3,459
    The camera view with small radar display works best for me when I'm flying.
     
  17. marzipana

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    290
    Likes Received:
    33
    Meta4, do you mean this radar? What's the white arrow at the top?

    [​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  18. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,747
    Likes Received:
    3,459
    That's the radar display but I'm not sure about the white arrow.
    I think this from DJI suggests it indicates the way your controller is pointing but I've never seen it move.
    I'll have to experiment.
     
    Trackman1 and marzipana like this.
  19. Trackman1

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2016
    Messages:
    838
    Likes Received:
    212
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Thanks Meta4. Thought I had seen all the videos. Missed that one.
     
  20. Wolfiesden

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2016
    Messages:
    1,187
    Likes Received:
    400
    Location:
    Milwaukee, WI, Ft Walton Beach, FL
    Of course you don't see it move. Its the direction the controller is facing :) At least in litchi, up on the radar is the direction the controller (device) is facing. If you rotate your body, the pips on the radar rotate but up is still the direction you are facing.