Streaming Video to a Computer

Reaction score
I'm a Science teacher working on creating curriculum around my Phantom 2 Vision+. I'm excited about all the applications it has for my Science class. However, I was wondering if it was possible to live stream video out from my drone to student computers. Does anyone that is slightly more tech savvy than myself have an idea of an inexpensive way to pull this off. Thanks in advance! I'm loving it so far.

C. Young

I've been experimenting with the Amazon Fire TV Stick.. I got it working last night on my 42" TV that I have in my lanai.. the Firestick is an android device.. I just had to side-load the settings.apk, the dji vision app, and configure a bluetooth keyboard/mouse and voila. I will be trying a flight tonight.. seems to me that it'd work for your situation or at least be a step in the right direction.

The DOE that purchased this has us working on iPads and MacBooks... Your idea sounds great, but I'm not sure it would work for us. Along your lines of thought though, perhaps Apple TV might be a solution that would be similar to your TV stick. Thanks!

Well, you can take the HDMI out from the mobile device running the Vision App, then feed that in to an HDMI capture device on a computer, then possibly stream that?

You might also see if there's an app that will capture the screen and make a live stream from that.

The AppleTV connected to a TV and set to mirror the iPad will get you to a larger display. That is going to be the low cost option. I would recommend using one of the iPadAIR tablets. The older iPads don't have enough processing power for doing that without a lot of lag and frame skipping.

CityZen said:
Well, you can take the HDMI out from the mobile device running the Vision App, then feed that in to an HDMI capture device on a computer, then possibly stream that?

You might also see if there's an app that will capture the screen and make a live stream from that.