State park rules

Reaction score
Im fairly new to the Drone community,was wondering what are the rules for state camp grounds on flying drones? Im at a state park in the Adirondacks in ny and the girl at the registration desk only said she thought in her training they said it was a privacy issue and wasn't allowed, i abliged and said no problem, I was just curious because it seems most of these people don't bother to educate themselves on drones what most people use them for

In Texas it's left up to the park managers. I was able to obtain permission to fly at the Battleship Texas and San Jacinto monument park, but not a park in west Texas. A nice letter or email to the park manager is what works/doesn't work here

The best thing to do is to contact the parks department directly and ask them. I did that where I live. It took a few days to get a response (and we're heading into a weekend today), but I printed the email as proof of their policy and keep it with me if I fly in a state park.

Contact New York's parks department here: Contact Us - NYS Parks, Recreation & Historic Preservation

Also, keep in mind, buzzing around a campground where people are looking for peace and quiet, isn't a great way to make friends. You're probably better off flying in more remote areas where the scenery is better anyway.

Reactions: N017RW
Don't always go by someone at a registration desk. Check the FAQs or rules of the park to get a definite answer
I've flown in parks but either go to a remote area or just ask the neighbors if they mind especially if they have pets
Never had a problem. Actually the opposite. Most people are curious and want to see the video and say they want to get a drone.
it's the uneducated drone spying haters that are the problem

Reactions: nintago
I find it's easier to ask for forgiveness than permission sometimes.