Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Speed Controller Question

Discussion in 'Phantom 1 Help' started by theplanewrecker, Feb 23, 2014.

  1. theplanewrecker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anyone tried swapping the stock Phantom speed controllers with aftermarket airplane ones?

    (i.e. higher amp rated)
     
  2. rilot

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2013
    Messages:
    842
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Twyford, UK
    Why would you want to?
     
  3. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    There's plenty of higher-current ESC's available that are optimized for multirotors, but as Rilot pointed out there's not really any need to with the Phantom. Some people have upgraded to 30A OPTO's when transferring their Phantom's guts to another platform such as the FW450, but I don't see a point to doing it otherwise.
     
  4. theplanewrecker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was pondering swapping the stock air frame and putting all of it on another frame. Because I recently fried some parts due to a motor magnet coming loose.
     
  5. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Yeah if you're swapping everything to a new platform you may want to get some new ESC's anyway rather than mounting the bare stock Phantom units on non-enclosed frame.
     
  6. theplanewrecker

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2014
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, and you answered my next question.
     
  7. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,542
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    Great! You can go with DJI's 30A OPTO's if you want, but you should be able to just use the 18A version with the Phantom batt/motors. Here's an example, but it might be hard to find them in stock for the next week or two: http://1uas.com/DJI-ESC-18A-OPTO-Brushl ... uadcopters