Soldering

Reaction score
I know some folks are considering soldering, I have been doing it for a lot of years. Its, not as intimidating as it appears. I started this thread so my brothers and sisters on this site can share experiences and ask advice. There are a lot of how-to guides on the net. I was a certified MIL-STD-2000 instructor in years past. If you really want to know http://www.electromet.com/documents/milstd2000a.pdf but its changed a lot over the years.
and http://www.everyspec.com/MIL-STD/MIL-STD-2000-2999/

Basic tips,
Safety DONT GET BURNED
Use the right Soldering Iron
Clean the surface before and after
Use the right size tip for the Job
Clean the Tip
Stay away from the one heat setting el-cheapo Irons
Use the right Heat setting.
Only keep the Iron in place long enough to make a proper solder joint.
Inspect your work after. Joint should be shiny in most cases.

Check out this guide to get started.
http://www.aaroncake.net/electronics/solder.htm But there are a lot more.

Many Thanks for this!

With regards to the following advice...

WeaponsHot said:
and

WeaponsHot said:

...what would you consider the "right soldering iron" and the "right heat setting" for typical Phantom 2 Vision related tasks? What's your opinion on gas vs electric? Are gas irons any better than electrical ones?

Cheers

dp

I agree on everything you mentioned, but for all intent and purpose a cheapo single setting small tip $20 soldering iron from radio hack does everything you could want on a Phantom if you are careful, and follow that one rule up there in particular- keep the tip clean. (a little flux goes a long way)

Now, with that said, I use a nice soldering station just the same.

deepheat said:
Many Thanks for this!

With regards to the following advice...

WeaponsHot said:
and

WeaponsHot said: