Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Set up. Phone and tablet?

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision Discussion' started by wat17, Jan 1, 2014.

  1. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Just wondering if you need 2x devices to run the Vision?

    One for FPV view such as an iPhone and the other to run the Ground station such as iPad?

    Also does iPad mini fit into the clip on the controller for the FPV?
     
  2. Migmon

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    There is no ground station support for p2v yet. Just need a phone for now.
    And no the mini doesn't fit stock clip
     
  3. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    ...and when there is a ground station-like feature set it will be from within the phone app, nothing else required. The iPad Ground Station software is not for the Vision - we're expecting a firmware and app update sometime within a month or so for the Vision.
     
  4. wat17

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2013
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thanks for the responses.

    Just thinking it might be difficult operating both the Camera and the quads direction on the phone at the same time.

    Guess we will wait and see what the software offers first.
     
  5. Migmon

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2013
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    1
    i only operate the camera when the p2v is hovering... its not like you are doing both at the same time.. you set the camera on the subject and then you can pan with the remote if needed or chase or whatever it is you want to do...
     
  6. Pull_Up

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2013
    Messages:
    3,684
    Likes Received:
    48
    Location:
    South Oxfordshire, UK
    I suspect that the Vision app won't have the control options that the iPad ground station does - the screen real estate is too small. I think it will probably be used for programming your waypoints and starting/stopping the programmed flight. I'm just guessing from the one screenshot DJI has released, mind you...