Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Replacing the Phantom 3 camera/gimbal..?

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by CloudPhantom, Apr 9, 2015.

  1. CloudPhantom

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2015
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    I read that the camera/gimbal set up is fixed to the drone and cannot be replaced? Is this true? Obviously that wouldnt be very good if you crash landed and messed something on the camera up.
     
  2. N017RW

    Joined:
    May 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6,244
    Likes Received:
    1,614
    Location:
    Palm Beach Co.- FL
    See here:
    http://www.dji.com/product/phantom-3/faq
     
  3. erikgraham

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2014
    Messages:
    226
    Likes Received:
    9
    Location:
    New York and Philadelphia
    Based on the photos, it looks like you will be able to replace the camera and gimbal. Just as you can on a Phantom 2 Vision+ (P2V+)

    You'll void your warranty, just as you would on P2V+, but someone will figure out how and there will undoubtedly be plenty of posts here on just what to do. The small sensor size on the camera is an issue. Just as it is on the Inspire 1. They really should focus on the drone technology and leave the camera tech to people who specialize in that (GoPro, Sony, etc).
     
    Jtrjr likes this.
  4. pounder35

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie and Ft. Walton Beach, FL.
    I destroyed my gimbal/camera yesterday. I lost an argument with a tree. The P3A is in great shape except for one slightly bent landing skid. I'll order the parts today for a little under $300 USD and do the repair myself. I believe the camera used on the P3A is made by Sony. I've been very happy with the picture and video quality.
     
  5. Not A Speck Of Cereal

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    145
    From the videos that I saw of replacing the gimbal/camera on the P2 vs the P3, it is much easier to do now on the 3 series. The 2 cables are connectors that are quickly removed and snapped back into the new gimbal/camera package.

    To the OP: where did you read that? The gimbal/camera package on Phantoms have been replaceable for a long time.
     
  6. Malakai

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2016
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    73
    Location:
    Wolves, UK
    yeah it can be swapped out easily, pop the two clear clips out of the corners of the gimbal. poke through the four rubber dampers. careful not to split them. carefully tilt the gimbal away from the aircraft and carefully disconnect the two connectors. reverse the process with the new gimbal. jobs done. you can swap out the advanced gimbal for the pro gimbal this way too and all you have to do is reinstall the pro firmware. going to buy a pro gimbal for my advanced as soon as i have saved enough. Ill post what I did when I do.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  7. pounder35

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2015
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    15
    Location:
    Heart of Dixie and Ft. Walton Beach, FL.
    Just ordered the gimbal/camera package for my P3A. Simple repair. About $300 USD for parts and shipping. OUCH. Not much choice though. Still haven't figured out how it happened. I was on my descent to swap batteries and came in too low and caught a tree just short of my landing zone. Another foot higher and I'd been fine. The bird is OK. Just one slightly bent landing skid.
     
  8. bkushner

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2016
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    55
    Location:
    New Jersey
    Does anyone know if IMU and or Gimbal Calibration is required after replacing the camera?
     
  9. Not A Speck Of Cereal

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2016
    Messages:
    404
    Likes Received:
    145
    Calibration of a new gimbal is good idea. Even if DJI calibrates new Phantoms before boxing them up, a new gimbal part is probably not calibrated before it's fit to a vehicle.

    To be honest, I don't know where the IMU lives (I don't think it's in the camera/gimbal package, but I'm not sure), so my answer here is: wouldn't hurt. If you lost the camera/gimbal package because of a crash, an IMU calibration sounds like a reasonable thing to do.

    Chris
     
    Eddyfisher likes this.
  10. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Yes, It's always advisable to recalibrate everything after a crash, even if you don't bust her up... Better to fly safe than see her disappear over the distant horizon... ;-)

    RedHotPoker
     
  11. Eddyfisher

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Rocky Mountain Region
    I did have to replace a gimbal/camera due to a 75mph argument with a tree. The swap is simple enough and I do recommend calibrating the gimbal. Out of my two P3Ps this one is the most stable and reliable.
     
  12. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    After the repair, did you recalibrate all three main areas of concern, IMU, Gimbal and Compass?

    RedHotPoker
     
  13. Eddyfisher

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2015
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Rocky Mountain Region
    Yes I did to be safe.
     
  14. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,100
    Likes Received:
    313
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    IMU is inside the bird. When doing any repair, I always calibrate the IMU and gimbal, and warn the customer to calibrate the compass before flight.


    Sent from my iPad using PhantomPilots