Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Replaced P3P Motherboard - Still ESC Error :(

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by jtuttleatl5, May 17, 2016.

  1. jtuttleatl5

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi - I've spent hours on all the helpful threads researching any problems but am at a dead end so hoping for your help! Quick overview of the pass 2 months...

    1) Crashed drone (my fault)
    2) Replaced burnt out motor and shell (motor was black, shell warped due to heat of motor)
    3) Rest of motors appear and feel fine when spun with hand. Put back together and got an ESC error.
    4) Updated controller and craft firmware, calibrated compass, calibrated IMU -> still getting ESC error
    5) Researched, confirmed correct part (Part 96), ordered, and replaced Motherboard.
    6) Updated controller and craft firmware, calibrated compass, calibrated IMU -> still getting ESC error

    I'm at a loss for what to do next. Any guidance appreciated! Thank you, JT
     
  2. HWCM

    Joined:
    May 2, 2016
    Messages:
    658
    Likes Received:
    138
    You have one or more bad motors. You are getting an ESC error because the ESC is sending a signal to the motor but the motor is not responding or is shorted (most likely). I have had this happen on one of the quads I built. The motor looked and smelled fine, not burnt. But it was bad. Trade the motors out one by one to find the bad one or just replace them all.
     
    jtuttleatl5, MasterBlaster and Oso like this.
  3. jtuttleatl5

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you! I'll check that out and report back. Appreciate the feedback.
     
  4. Bailey5

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2015
    Messages:
    260
    Likes Received:
    25
    I'd say replace all the motors don't just change out the one u think was bad
     
  5. CCDD

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Messages:
    650
    Likes Received:
    384
    Location:
    US
    After losing 2 months of flying time with your Phantom, wouldn't it make more sense at this point just to replace it with another and just either sell or save your existing P3 for a later project or for parts? If you have another to fly then it's perhaps different however, if you're being held up due to the aforementioned, then I would just replace it. There are some great deals out there, almost too good for many of to pass up buying a spare for times like this.
     
  6. jtuttleatl5

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5

    Because I'm this far in!
     
    DefaultIT, Digdat0, HWCM and 2 others like this.
  7. Ted4797

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2015
    Messages:
    981
    Likes Received:
    157
    Location:
    Florida
    I know the feeling
     
  8. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    Sometimes you will get a ESC error if the FW version on the board is a mismatch to the rest of the components such as lightbridge, camera and transmitter. It reports esc error and can be misleading. not saying this is the case in your scenario but it has happened to me
     
  9. jtuttleatl5

    Joined:
    May 17, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    5

    How did you fix this? Thanks in advance
     
  10. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    You need to update the firmware of the aircraft and RC controller so they match - possibly to the latest version you are happy with
     
  11. DefaultIT

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2016
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    74
    Stab in the dark...

    Anyone know what meter readings to look for on leads to a motor? that might help identify another bad one before you tear it all down....but I must confess I'd have to do some digging to figure out what kind of resistance, etc, to look for, other than connection between wires that shouldn't be connected (short).

    ..and if you don't have a meter, go hit up harbor freight or (if you must) radio shack. They're cheap and there's always a reason to have one around
     
    jtuttleatl5 likes this.