Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Ready to Fly PV2+ or not.....

Discussion in 'Phantom 2 Vision + Discussion' started by catchingchrome, Dec 17, 2014.

  1. catchingchrome

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Got my new PV2+ v 3.0 and have performed all the calibrations, firmware updates, chargings etc. I also bought the killer RC gimbal protector but haven't installed it yet. After reading the forum and hearing about gimbal separation and ribbon damage, I thought it would be good to install it before my first flight. Outside of that I think I am ready to go. Anything I'm missing? Looking forward to my first flight!
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,552
    Location:
    US
  3. catchingchrome

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, I read the manual 2X, watched the BH videos several times and several others on youtube. Plus I have a lot of helicopter experience, and also have been flying a indoor quadcopter about 20 minutes a day for the last 3 weeks......Which was lead me to the PV2...
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    The most important thing you can do now is to make sure you fly in a large, clear, open area.
    Trees, buildings and other obstacles are your number one enemy.
     
  5. catchingchrome

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh how I know that........
     
  6. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,552
    Location:
    US
    Yes, sir.

    Understand what the S1 and S2 switches do and how and when to use/set them properly. They will help you stay away from obstacles.

    Also, know and understand what the Phantom is telling you when it blinks at you.
     

    Attached Files:

  7. catchingchrome

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    While I have it on the bench, should I perform the foil mod? I do have a version 3.0. Just figured if it will reduce interference why not....
     
  8. MacCool

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    midwest USA
    Theoretically unnecessary. DJI upgraded the shielding and installed RF chokes for you in version 3.0.

    Make a checklist just to make sure you don't forget anything. It's easy to do. There's one in the Vision app for your iPhone.
     
  9. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,850
    Likes Received:
    5,552
    Location:
    US
    Version 3 owners are reporting that it's not an issue. So, until it is an issue, I would recommend you leave it as-is.
     
  10. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,714
    Likes Received:
    3,436
    It would be pointless if DJI have already done it for you in the latest version.
    Easy to fire up the machine on the ground in an open area and see how it reads the sky.
     
  11. h4v0c6

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2014
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    I normally get 10+ sats when flying with my v3 without the foil mod. I would agree with everyone else. Leave it as is u til you have an issue.
     
  12. catchingchrome

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2014
    Messages:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    10-4, I thought that was the case as well. Just tried it outside and got 9 sats pretty easily....
     
  13. MacCool

    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2014
    Messages:
    767
    Likes Received:
    178
    Location:
    midwest USA
    I have GPS Plan on my iPhone. It showed that I'd get 7 satellites for my P2V+ v3.0. When I got it out there, I had 9. That's pretty typical.