Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Standard RC signal weak

Discussion in 'Phantom 3 Help' started by Neil Shearer, Mar 26, 2016.

  1. Neil Shearer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Hi

    Having just received my phantom 3 other day I'm getting to grips with i well but it seems I can't go higher than 185 metres and distance wise I lost RC signal at 310 metres away. Is this normal?? I stay in a remote region with no interference from other signals. Anyone have any solutions??

    Neil
     
  2. mcphipps

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Wheatfield Indiana
    Neil,
    Scroll down to the bottom of this page, you will see similar threads to what you are asking about. I am sure there will be something in those threads to help you out.
    The standard has been known to have issues with the connector inside not being secured. This may or may not be your problem. Best thing to do is to go through the threads below and see what others have done.
    Good Luck.
     
  3. Neil Shearer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Thanks Mcphipps, would you recommend the dbs or the Argtek to improve range and video quality?
     
  4. Garry C

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2016
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    34
    the distance issues are hit or miss. i dont think video is a big problem for most. its the flight distance. stock setups are getting erratic distances. some get way beyond what its claimed. some get a lot worse. some have success with the controler mods, some it makes it worse. its a gamble really. youre best bet right now, is to make one of the windsurfers and attach it to your controller. youre out about 15 minutes time and a dollar in supplies.
     
    mcphipps likes this.
  5. mcphipps

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2015
    Messages:
    507
    Likes Received:
    156
    Location:
    Wheatfield Indiana

    Agreed.
    This is where I would start as well.
    I only have the ARGtek, so I can't comment on the DBS.
     
  6. Neil Shearer

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2016
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    1
    Cheers guys, I made a windsurfer and best I can get is 500m before it reached max distance.
     
  7. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,564
    Likes Received:
    727
    Location:
    Australia
    185 metres up if close to your home point a lightbridge phantom will have connection issues also, even with the remote pointed at it. The antennas are vertically polarised, worst case being directly above where the antennas on the bird will be 90deg off optimum. As to range generally you havent said where you are flying but if the there are other wifi routers, cordless phones etc around this is pretty much the performance you ahould expect.
     
  8. Multicoptertec

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Apollo Beach, Florida
    If the bird is above you, flatten the antennas, that is parallel to earth.
     
  9. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,564
    Likes Received:
    727
    Location:
    Australia
    Agreed this will give some improvement however issues are still likely, direct above puts you in the weakest area of the signal propogation from the ac.