Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

RC Signal lost

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by Amaury26, Dec 25, 2015.

  1. Amaury26

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    HI.
    After downloading yesterday the new update on an iPhone 6S IOS platform an RC Signal lost warning shows up. Does not let me do anything. Last week was flying perfectly.
    Any advice? Thanks!!
     
    BigBird 2004 likes this.
  2. bootstrap

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Go to the rc menu in app. At the bottom there is an option to relink. Then on the lest side of the p3 a little hole with a red light. Press it and restart p3 the rc and the app. Was the way I correct the same issue with mine after firmware update
     
  3. Frito60

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2015
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Harpswell, ME.
    This is my first post, I hope I am not being redundant, but here goes. I purchased my P3S a week ago after looking for months at reviews and a host of products in the same class. I have been flying indoor quads and simulators for almost a year and felt very confident in my ability and "tech savvy". I watched every DJI video I could find, downloaded all the DJI documentation and spent four days reading and readying myself (I had not spent time on this forum, however).

    I was preparing for my first flight on Wednesday evening this week, downloaded and installed "DJI Go" on my IOS phone and started up the charged remote, P3S and the DJI app. All this done (no props installed), I was immediately satisfied with the link, and given time, I was able to connect to more than 5 satellites and the controller logged the home point and all systems appeared go, (green status bar along top of app, etc.).

    ...and then my DJI app recommended a firmware update/upgrade. Not intimidated at all, I followed instructions, I initiated the download and install to the P3S. The bird beeps and the status bar on the IOS device slowly moves to the right with multiple stalls and I began to be concerned. At 100% the beeping stopped and I thought I was done. The app flashed a quick warning about upgrade failed but I wasn't particularly concerned. Then I found my RC blinking the green light (inactive for more than 6 minutes) and I could not link my RC to the P3S.

    For the next hour and a half my unit appeared bricked. The blinking red "link light" under the P3S and multiple attempts to link the controller, turning units on and off, reading the web and all. Nothing was getting me back to where I was before the "upgrade".

    All of this frustration and effort, however, taught me a lot about the system. Ultimately, I found when I turned off the P3S and linked only to my controller, the DJI Go App instructed to me to upgrade the firmware on the RC. When I completed this upgrade, the RC linked with the P3S and all returned to normal. Again, having gone through this BEFORE my first flight seems to have been a good experience for me, because I have a healthy respect for firmware updates and will pay much more attention to process of updating firmware.

    I am happy to report I have had three days of very satisfying flying and performance. I am hyper sensitive to range issue being reported on this forum, but so far I have had little difficulty. While I have not flown beyond about 200m away, I have kept a solid signal between the RC and P3S. I will keep this group posted as I begin to go further and increase this range.

    I do wonder if some of the linking problems reported in the past few weeks (or days) may be the same issue I faced as a new user. Happy to respond to others.
     
  4. F-4E Phantom II

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I got my Phantom 3 Standard this afternoon. I think the exact same thing happened to me. Everything seemed to be functioning normally until the firmware update. Now, I can't get past the message about RC connection being lost. What I can't figure out is how to implement our solution. How do I turn off the P3S and link only to my controller? There must be something simple I'm not understanding. So, how do I just update the RC firmware?
     
  5. ANDYCOHO

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you for this advise! My friend bought one this week and was having this problem. Found this post and we had it flying within 5-minutes!
     
  6. Roothead

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2016
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0