Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Quick change over of battery off site

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by Palmax.123, Sep 1, 2015.

  1. Palmax.123

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2015
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    3
    Location:
    Pretoria
    Hi guys

    Been thinking..... Lets say I send my bird out along the coast making use of a full battery and landing it once the battery level is low near a person awaiting it's arrival and then once they have the bird replace it's battery with a freshly charged one. Would or could the RC actually regain connection with the bird even though it would be 2 km' away. And would the RTH be lost or reset back to the batteyr exchange spot?
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,959
    Likes Received:
    5,581
    Location:
    US
    This would only be possible if you had no obstacles in between you and your Phantom at all times. And, yes, your home point would be reset after taking off with the fresh battery. If you have GPS on your mobile device, you could reset the home point back to your current position.
     
  3. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,734
    Likes Received:
    3,451
    RTH is going to be reset when the Phantom powers up again - just like it dies every time you change batteries.
     
  4. 4wd

    4wd

    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2014
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    421
    Location:
    North York Moors
    In most cases it won't get signal when on the ground that far off.
    This is worth bearing in mind should you plan simply landing at another location, because if it is set to RTH rather than land on loss of signal (as most of us do) it isn't going to go down where you decide unless battery is almost out anyway.
     
  5. IOIIOOO

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2015
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Central Iowa
    Initiating a land from the app doesn't RTH when signal is lost, so those landing remotely should probably do that.
     
  6. mohan

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2015
    Messages:
    527
    Likes Received:
    206
    Yes true but if once the OP lands he changes battery which will then set a new home point. When he attempts to take off he may lose signal and aircraft may return to remote site. If the original launch site is at a higher position than landing site (elevated area such as mountain) and OP dives down to landing site it is quite possible to do this (land, switch battery and take off).