Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Question on Inspire mod for monitor mount

Discussion in 'Standard/4k Discussion' started by nattieman, Feb 25, 2016.

  1. nattieman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Hey guys,

    I did the Inspire mod for my monitor. I use an iPad mini 2 with cellular. I have it in an Otter Box type case and it just doesn't fit in the cradle with the case. If I take it out it's awesome. I always use cases on all my iPhone's and iPads just for the oops factor. I hate taking the iPad out of the case as I'm worried with my luck I'd drop it. In my reading I found the 3D printed top piece and tried it out but without the foam or neoprene like the Inspire mount has on top and bottom, it is not a snug fit and I can pull the iPad right out.
    So with all this said I'm wondering what you guys have to offer for a solution to my problem.

    Thanks in advance,

    Rick
     
  2. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,841
    Likes Received:
    5,549
    Location:
    US
    Which 3D printed piece are you using?
     
  3. nattieman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Bought it off eBay I think
     

    Attached Files:

  4. nattieman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's the slide on top piece
     
  5. msinger

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2014
    Messages:
    18,841
    Likes Received:
    5,549
    Location:
    US
    That's my favorite extender :)

    My device was in a thin, rubber sleeve when I last used it, so it didn't slide out. Maybe just stick a foam strip on the top if that works for you. I can imagine it would slide without it with hard plastic touching hard plastic.
     
  6. nattieman

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    7
    Ok I'll give it a try..... I wasn't sure if I was going to have to change the mount or not. I did buy a jelly fish but I think I need to change the actual mount to make that work. Might even need a gimbal.