Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Protective Unit and screws - Can anyone answer this one

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-2D GoPro Gimbal' started by maxscottdog, Jan 5, 2014.

  1. maxscottdog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Towcester, UK
    Hi All,

    Newbie here and have rigged up the P2 with gimbal and Hero 3.
    On the install video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=pl ... jRaCYtQtvM
    You can see what they call a protective unit - essentially it adds some further security to the dampeners between the two plates.
    I noticed in older unboxing videos these "protective units" didn't exist. Is it necessary to have these in? Is this a new version update?

    The reason I ask is I had a little incident which snapped all four of them. I have one spare but for the life of me can not find the part on-line. Is this a nice to have or am I safe without these additional safety pieces.

    Your assistance is greatly appreciated

    Scott
     

    Attached Files:

  2. Ksc

    Ksc

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2013
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    4
    Location:
    Naples, FL
    Not needed. If you really feel that you must have these, you can use little wire ties. Not too tight. Not too loose.
     
  3. Chris0275

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2014
    Messages:
    38
    Likes Received:
    0
    Two of mine have now been lost, broken off? Idk, vibrated loose? Maybe. Can we not get replacements? Maybe try the zip tie?
     
  4. maxscottdog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Towcester, UK

    No news on replacements. Funnily I took Ksc suggestion but only had zip ties!! See the photo. Bit windy at mo to check but seems to be perfect solution and to be honest as the others so readily snapped I am loathed to fit them again. This will ensure my GoPro tries not free fall out of the tree this time, however one is not looking to repeat that incident.
     

    Attached Files:

  5. Avidphoto

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2013
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Alabama
    Great solution!!! I had the same issue. Plus, I intentionally over tightened them and it came back with two gone. I honestly thought they were needed.
     
  6. picturemark

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I too just got my P2 with the Zenmuse gimbal. It appears one of the security screws has already been lost after four short test flights.
    I like the idea of using zip ties to replace the screws; how are you getting around clearance issues between the gimbal base and the P2 body towards the rear? Mine mounts flush to the body.
    Thanks in advance.
     
  7. maxscottdog

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Towcester, UK
    Hi ground clearance is poor and would highly recommend you have your Phantom on a level piece of ground. I now use paths, benches. But have recently bought a tradecraft case from the US to house all my Phantom gear so can use this to take off from.
    Long grass, muddy uneven surfaces are not helpful.
    Often the gimbal without power will hold the go pro into a down position which brings attention to the lens on the ground. So I either leave the lens cap on or power up the RC TX then the P2 before i set it down. This gives the gimbal the chance to power up and right itself bringing the go pro into a horizontal plane or at least i can change it with the lever X1 on the RC before i put it down.

    Also to everyone I have found the spares if you should need them from FPV - http://www.firstpersonview.co.uk/access ... over-screw

    BUT AT £30 YOU CAN KISS MY >>>>>! Zip Ties ALL the way!!!

    Hope this helps
     
  8. wisie

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Stupid question but what is the actual purpose of these screws and how essential are they? I just lost my first one and relieved to read that they can be simply replaced with cable ties.
     
  9. Kevinski

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2014
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    The retainers can cut a ribon cable in the gimbal in a crash, making it very expensive to repair. They also guarantee a bent mounting bracket. See this post;

    http://www.phantompilots.com/viewtopic.php?f=8&t=8884

    A loop of fishing wire will give you confidence the gimbal is not going to drop off and is lighter than cable ties.

    Thanks,

    Kev
     
  10. quaddyinIndo71

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2014
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    So it looks like I have the answer to the question I was looking for - either fishing line or ties :)

    Not sure why I have had two situations when the gimbal came loose in flight and then as the Phantom was unbalanced, it came crashing down. Hopefully, this will alleviate this problem, although maybe I need to check that the rubber dampeners are secured or replace them, one of the two? Any thoughts greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance :)