Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up free to join our community today!

Sign Up

prop guards

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by propwash3d, Feb 23, 2014.

  1. propwash3d

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    so everything is workig really well....filiming and taking some amazing video.....installed the prop guards, should i use the string? is it really needed im sure its for extra stability if your up high in high winds...what do you guys reccomend
     
  2. Bob_Rush

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Numidia, PA - USA
    It's my understanding that the string is to keep you from being tangled up in things like tree branches and such. Didn't really think it had anything to do with stability. I use it and it has saved my butt more than once.
     
  3. jthorstad

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2013
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    What Bob says...the string prevents things from going between the guards and getting at your props. I think it's worth using it!
     
  4. Sokol

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fairdale, Ky.
    Definitely worth using if you have the guards........without the string, the guards can actually work against you if you get in tree branches.
     
  5. reALIGNed

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2013
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.E. Wisconsin
    +1,.............. good point
     
  6. propwash3d

    Joined:
    Feb 15, 2014
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    makes sense fellas...yeah its now on....i actually poped open the lid to explore inside a bit...like i said befor im a heli guy and do all the building myself...so i just wanted to make sure everything was attached correctly lol it was :D
     
  7. Surf Island

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2013
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    A couple of times I took off too slow and my Phantom skipped across the concrete on the guards. I know it saved me some blades in this instance. Other than that it has flown very smooth with them on.
     
  8. paulinde

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Delaware
    My guards came without string..... Can someone fill me in?
     
  9. Big Ben

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2014
    Messages:
    344
    Likes Received:
    0
    I seem to remember the little spool was a bit hidden in the packaging. Is there a cardboard insert in the box? Could it be between the insert and the box?

    If indeed it is missing. It's basically 10m of kite line. Use that.
     
  10. Bob_Rush

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Numidia, PA - USA
    No all prop guards come with the eyelets for string.
     
  11. Sokol

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fairdale, Ky.
    All the original DJI prop guards come with the eyelets and a spool of string...if yours doesn't have those things, they are after market items.
     
  12. paulinde

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Delaware
    Yes, after market. Can I assume that the string just makes a square connecting all four guards?

    Big Ben, Had one of those blue eyed guys that loved to stare my neighbor down.
     
  13. Bob_Rush

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Numidia, PA - USA
    You are correct! I did see an after market that someone used with rubber bands connected between the props.
     
  14. paulinde

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2014
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Delaware
    Many thanks for all the responses.
     
  15. joels

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2013
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondering, What kind of pro guards can i use, if i have the carbon fiber propeller install on my Dji Phantom. Am using a 9x4.7 pro. Please help
     
  16. Sokol

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2014
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fairdale, Ky.

    I think you will be forced to use an after market item. You can check Amazon for the propguards for oversize propellers. Good luck!
     
  17. OI Photography

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2013
    Messages:
    5,540
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Clarksville, TN
    The Phantom 2 propguards will work on the Phantom 1 for those who have 9" props: http://www.heli-world.com/detail.aspx?ID=11573
     

Share This Page