Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Problem with black pearl

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Lee71, Apr 12, 2015.

  1. Lee71

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    england
    Hi guys! Im not getting a picture on my black pearl monitor. I've made sure I am in PAL on both my go pro and monitor. The screen is not fuzzy just blank,I've got all my telemetry showing but no picture, please help!!!!. Best, Lee
     
  2. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    If you have telemetry, then it's not the monitor, but the camera connection. The usual failure is the USB connection into the Go-Pro - if you are using the DJI gimbal, or trying to use a Hero 4 on a hero 3 gimbal.

    Also check that the camera is set to video, not photo.
     
  3. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Check the flex cable.
    Incorrect PAL vs NTSC setting will just give you erratic jumpy video.
     
  4. Lee71

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    england
    thanks for your help buddy,but still no picture .im using a zemuse h2 3d gimbal and a go pro 3 black edition .changed connector from gimbal to camera and still nothing.what else could it be?
     
  5. Lee71

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2015
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    england
    sorry thats an h33d gimbal .
     
  6. noiseboy72

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2014
    Messages:
    575
    Likes Received:
    17
    Location:
    Lincs, UK
    Anything between the camera and the mini OSD! check all the cables all away along the signal path. A £10 mulitmeter is an excellent investment for tracing faults! This will allow you to test each link in isolation.

    It could be the Go Pro, but this is unusual.
     
  7. thestone11

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2015
    Messages:
    296
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    Alberta Canada
    One more thing to check is your memory card....lower grade memory card has a tendency to freeze up the GoPro! At that point, you will get your mini iosd overlay but a black screen.