Pro4+ refuses to stay aloft

Reaction score
I've got a brand new PPro4+ (Been flying a 3 pro) and in prepping it for first flight, I wonder if I have ommitted something. The controller says ready to fly, but when I take off and ascend maybe 100 feet, it wants to immediately come back and make an auto landing. I can't determine why it insists on not staying aloft. I get nor error messages and I've turned off the obstacle sensors in case it didn't like a tree or building 2-30 feet away. I rose above those anyway and it still wanted to sit back down. Thoughts?

Obviously, you are new to this. Do you have antennas positioned horizontal since flying straight overhead?

Wait so the drone keeps losing altitude with no stick input (left and right in middle) it could be a VPS issue. Try calibrating VPS through DJI assistant

Thanks all, and to Rgarry, I'm new to the pro4+ but have been flying drones and RC for years. After just now taking the + out for more tests, I'm wondering if there is something wrong with this one. It continues to want to descend and land, but I'm starting to see other things wrong, like after the calibration and startup and altimeter initially showing zero (as it should), it reads 149 feet when it lifts off and is only about 20 feet off the ground. Also, occasionally after landing, it won't restart and I get a "navigation error" message on the screen which is not remedies except by turning the + off and then restarting it. All else works fine once aloft in terms of obstacle avoidance and maneuvering and photos/video, but something makes me wonder if I don't need to calibrate the IMU. I don't see an option for doing that. Any ideas what could be going on or how to reboot the entire IMU? I know this is still a very new model, and I even had the Go4 app refuse to boot once when turning on the controller. Recall this has the built in bright screen and not an iphone.