Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Poor Range with P3A

Discussion in 'Pro/Adv Discussion' started by FlyingTwinkie, Feb 8, 2016.

  1. FlyingTwinkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    I've done a few flights now, and I've noticed that I've got pretty poor range on my P3A. I start getting a weak controller signal warning about 1/4 mile away. Is this normal with the stock setup?

    Tonight, I had the Phantom 400 feet directly above my head and was getting the weak signal warnings from time to time.

    RC was fully charged.
     
    rene van der meer likes this.
  2. KyleMaxxUAV

    Approved Vendor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    1,113
    Likes Received:
    312
    I noticed on my p3a also getting poor distance ... But I need to go somewhere with less interference and see how much different it is.

    Don't forget the antenna position is extremely important


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  3. DroneDestination

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2016
    Messages:
    698
    Likes Received:
    126
    1. DJI recommends not flying directly overhead
    2. Make sure your antennae are positioned correctly - if the P3 is above your head, the antennae should be parallel to the ground
     
  4. Meta4

    Meta4 Moderator
    Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2014
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    3,462
    Here's something about proper antenna orientation:


    Directly above you will always give you the worst signal strength as you just cannot get proper antenna orientation.
     
  5. FlyingTwinkie

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2016
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    4
    Thank you, everyone. Very helpful information. Much appreciated!! Cheers.
     
  6. Reed L

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2015
    Messages:
    1,273
    Likes Received:
    391
    Location:
    Alta, Ca.
    I'm still running 1.3.2 on the bird but there's no issues even straight up max height with the antennas pointing normal instead of up or laying horizontal. I wanted to test my signal with the antennas pointing 90° wrong and never had a problem straight up. I bought a K1 and took it out yesterday for the first time with this tablet and everything worked flawlessly as usual. The K1 was nice and it took me 6 months to break down and get a dedicated tablet. I'm staying at 1.3.2 because it works :)
     
  7. 847guy

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2015
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    chicago
    Range depends where u fly. Some ppl who fly in super flat open areas swear they got 3 miles easy. But if your in a more urban area or forestry. U won't get much range with a stock setup
     
  8. Mark The Droner

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    4,016
    Likes Received:
    1,173
    Location:
    Brookeville, MD, USA
    I think most noobs (no offense) are kinda disappointed with range right away - in most cases. I was. You gotta keep in mind that the range stated on the box is best case and stock. So your environment has to be perfect, and even then, you have to know at least something about to aim your antenna, even if it's a omni-directional linear stock antenna.

    The range will come with time.
     
  9. rene van der meer

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2015
    Messages:
    377
    Likes Received:
    70
    Flying Twinkie, I had several range problems with new P3A's.
    Happy Christmas with P3A number 4
    I would recommend flying in the open field using optimal antenna orientation.
    If the problem then still occurs you might have a defective RC or AC. You should then contact DJI.

    Flying overhead is not optimal for reception, but if the antenna's are placed horizontal a height of 400 ft (130 m) should not be a problem.
    Please keep us updated and good luck.