Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Plugging in the video crashes the GoPro

Discussion in 'Zenmuse H3-3D/H4-3D GoPro Gimbal' started by jrmarsh, Jan 10, 2015.

  1. jrmarsh

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    When I plug in the video ribbon cable from the gimbal into the USB port on the GoPro Hero 4 the camera crashes and all buttons/controls become disabled. I then have to remove the battery in order to turn off the camera.
    Any help would be great.
    Thanks,
    James
     
  2. CityZen

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2014
    Messages:
    940
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    NYC
    Try putting tape over the voltage contacts on the plug. Just leave the video contacts uncovered. This was helping some folks who had interference issues.
    You'll have to search for that thread to find the pictures of what they covered, or else use your multimeter to figure out the right pair.
     
  3. Mako79

    Joined:
    May 16, 2014
    Messages:
    3,418
    Likes Received:
    568
    Location:
    Sydney Australia
    Inspect the flex. I think it's been damaged or compromised.
    Dji would have supplied a spare cable in the h33d package. It's very easy to change. Just take your time and lift the tab and slide it in. And take a photo before you start so you know if it's installed incorrectly.
     
  4. jrmarsh

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2015
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks, I did change the cable and the problem is now intermittent will intermittent. I did firmware updates on both the camera and the craft. So far it's been pretty good.
     
  5. martee2

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2015
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm having the same freeze problem with my GoPro Hero 4 Black when I insert the video output board connector from the H3-3D gimbal (version 1.1--For Phantom 2 only) into the GoPro's mini-USB port and turn the GoPro on.

    Just like you, I have to remove the frozen GoPro from gimbal and take out its battery to power it off. After battery reinsertion, everything's fine with the camera until I stick it back on the gimbal, insert the connector, and power the camera back on.

    On the other hand, my GoPro Hero 3 Black works fine on the same H3-3D, which to me, in my case, rules out any video output board ribbon cable damage.

    With a magnifying glass, I looked at and compared the insides of the mini-USB ports of the two GoPro's. There is a discernible design difference between the two. Whether that's the possible problem, who knows?

    The Zenmuse gimbal, Phantom 2 (v2.0), and both GoPro's have latest firmware updates as of 11 Jan 2015.

    Update (12 Jan 2015): Just to make sure it's not a problem with output board connector ribbon cable, I replaced existing ribbon cable and connector head with brand new ones. Made no difference. Hero 3 Black worked fine. Hero 4 Black went comatose once again.

    For anyone interested, attached photo shows difference between Hero 4 Black and Hero 3 Black USB bays (ports)---both have 5-pin configuration but slightly different designs.
     

    Attached Files:

  6. UgashikBob

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2014
    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    12
    Location:
    Ugashik Lakes Alaska USA
    I am having a variation of the power problem with my H3-3D/GP4S/IOSDII/NazaMV2/F550/6s. My plan was to manually power up the GP4s then manually put it in record mode. I did not connect the power connection from the IOSDII to the H3-3D GCU but did connect the USB plug to the GP4 assuming it would feed video to the IOSD/VtX when I manually powered up the GP4s. When I power up the 550 the GP4 appears to be powered up but no display in the front window and I can not start recording by manually using the record button. If I power cycle the GP4S I can then start recording by manually pushing the record button. This is a non Phantom installation but appears to me the H3-3D was never tested with my components(All DJI). The H4-3D may address these problems sometime in February but what about the current H3-3D/GP4 issues?