Phantom Vision 2 plus camera compared to GP3+ ?

Reaction score
Hi There,

I am pretty new to video but have been using go pro's for a couple year and since i got into aerial filming have started using pro tune at 2.7 at 30fps, occasionally 1080p at 60fps editing in Premiere and Aftereffects. I had quite a few crashes and hassles setting up the FPV on a Phantom 2 so bought a Phantom 2 vision plus. Compared to the stills i was taking with Go Pro 3 and 3+ on the P2 i have been REALLY happy with the the P2 vision+. The FPV, telemetary and waypoints are amazing. Compared to the Go Pro unfortunately i am not very impressed. I am using normal sharpening. Soft seems too soft for me and i can't sharpening the footage in post satisfactorily using P remiere and Aftereffects CC. I find the P2 Vis + footage has a lot of noise in the shadows and blows out really easily in the highlights. I also get a lot of moire on architecture patterns. The stability of the gimbal is amazing and being able to switch between stills and video is a dream come true....it's just the video quality that kills it for me.

Can anyone please explain what the main differences are between the video cameras and why the DJI camera has so much noise andartefacts compared to the Go Pro3 + ? I am a photographer so understand color bits dpi etc but wonder how it works with video :roll: The DJI footage looks like a compressed sharpened JPG compared to a RAW file before it has been processed - in photographic terms.

Any help greatly appreciated.

I'm curious about this as every video comparison I've seen shows little difference or generally the Vision+ beating the GoPro's... whatever version you throw at it.
Similar story with the GoPro vs the Sony Action Cam or any competitor. GoPro has some big fans.
I'd love to see a video with GoPro handily beating the Vision+ so if you've got some definitive video it would be a great excuse to get a GoPro.
More so now that they can do simultaneous video and photo capture.