Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom Pilots app and site only works on wifi??

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by Mfoster82, Jul 7, 2016.

  1. Mfoster82

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Dayton,OH
    Ive checked multiple carriers and devices... why does Phantom Pilots app and website only work while connected to wifi?

    Sent from my SM-N920P using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  2. rdandy5875

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    24
    I have this problem as well. Haven't checked other phones but I'm on AT&T and cannot get the forum in any capacity unless I switch to wifi...
     
    Mfoster82 likes this.
  3. 680aerials

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2016
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    7
    Yep same issue here I reported this past over a month ago


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Mfoster82 likes this.
  4. dronejunkyev

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2016
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    14
    Yeah I can't get the app to open on iPad it just spins on splash screen and when I try and go to safari I get server not responding.. Works on my iPhone which is strange[​IMG][​IMG]


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
    Mfoster82 likes this.
  5. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    Website works on cellular data for me, iOS and android.
     
  6. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    The forum works great on both of my iOS devices. The elder iPad 3 which I am using right now, while I write this and my iPad Air2 Cellular, used primarily for my Phantom 3 Pro' kit.
    That's been good since day one, of week three. Hahaha

    RedHotPoker
     
  7. rdandy5875

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    24
    it's pretty frustrating. Like just yesterday I had an issue in the field and needed to Google search using my mobile data. Well the internet was pretty much useless because every result linked to this forum. There were a couple of oddball links to other sites, but those didn't have the info I needed. I fixed the quad myself but it was the first time not being able to get to this forum really screwed me.
     
    Mfoster82 likes this.
  8. RussOnTheRoad

    Joined:
    May 14, 2016
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    30
    I'm using the app (new version) on my iPhone 6s with wifi turned OFF. So, I'm using my AT&T cellular connection. No problems here.


    Sent from my iPhone using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  9. Mfoster82

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Dayton,OH
    Half of you can and the other half cant. This is odd. The app just spins like its loading on network..the website tries until it times out and gives me some error connecting to host. Just like rdandy5875 I was looking for help in the field and couldnt use the app or site. Ive removed and reinstalled app and that doesnt work. Tried apple and android. Sprint, at&t and a verizon phone and all the same. You creators can tell me if you just dont like me. I wasnt stage 5 clinger until i got this new phantom and yearned for your forum page. I cant quit you even if you only want my wifi power.

    Sent from my SM-N920P using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  10. With The Birds

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2016
    Messages:
    2,599
    Likes Received:
    740
    Location:
    Australia
    Go into settings, mobile, data and make sure the phantom pilots app has use mobile data enabled.

    You should be good to go then. It's a device config issue. No need to beat up the app developers.
     
    Pharm likes this.
  11. rdandy5875

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    24
    This has nothing to do with the app in particular. Cannot get to the site via browser either. A traceroute to the site via 4glte shows no hops at all. Traceroute via wifi is fine. Hmm
     
    Mfoster82 likes this.
  12. Mfoster82

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Dayton,OH
    Mobile data is on for the app but still does not work for website or app. Tried chrome, IE, and a few random browers on my phone. None like phantom pilots. Was hoping its an easy fix

    Sent from my SM-N920P using PhantomPilots mobile app
     
  13. theTastyCat

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    92
    Man, I thought it was just me. It's not the app - it's something more global. I use my phone (Verizon) as a mobile wifi hotspot, and the site (browser or app) does the same thing on my phone, my iPad, my laptop, anything. It's regardless of browser, OS, anything. But, I've never had any trouble with the site on my work PC that's on the work network.

    Most of the time it either won't load the site at all, or it will hang at 10% and maybe load after 2-3 minutes. Occasionally it will work like gangbusters for about 30 seconds, but then quit working. It's bit me in the field as well!!

    Devs, this site is fantastic, and like others, I'm totally addicted. If there's any way to remedy this, I would be hugely grateful! Maybe the host could reset/refresh some stuff?
     
    Mfoster82 likes this.
  14. RedHotPoker

    Joined:
    May 3, 2015
    Messages:
    3,972
    Likes Received:
    1,365
    Location:
    Edmonton Alberta
    Have you already cleared your cache~cookies and rebooted the unit?
    Because if not, you know what time it is?
    image.jpeg
    Hahaha

    RedHotPoker
     
    Mfoster82 likes this.
  15. theTastyCat

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    92
    COOOOOKIE!! Yeah, did all that - it's every single device on the connection, every single browser.
     
    Mfoster82 likes this.
  16. rdandy5875

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2016
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    24
    Just curious, what device? I have a galaxy s7...
     
  17. theTastyCat

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    92
    Droid Turbo (XT1254)
     
  18. Mfoster82

    Joined:
    Jun 21, 2016
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Dayton,OH
    Galaxy Note 5, Tab 4, Tab S. Today out of nowhere it worked over network..then hour later it didnt.
     
  19. Mangospoops

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2016
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Has anybody figure something out about this i have the same issue i have an ios device i tried the phamtom pilots app, tapatalk app, and safari and i cannot get on the site unless im on wifi i have an iphone 7 and an ipad air and nothing worns. Cleared cookies,cache, uninstalled and the site only works on wifi. This is very odd it has to be a website issue.
     
  20. theTastyCat

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2016
    Messages:
    268
    Likes Received:
    92
    Sorry to say my issue cleared up several months ago; I wish it had for you as well! It might be worth a message to the site admins to let them know it's still happening for some users. It was *not* fun having to deal with that :(