Welcome to PhantomPilots.com

Sign up for a weekly email of the latest drone news & information

Phantom + DX6i

Discussion in 'General Discussion' started by DomKane, Apr 7, 2013.

  1. DomKane

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Hey guys, I'm new to the world of Phantom (so new in fact that I don't even have it yet!) but thought I'd check out the forums to start.

    So I have a AR Drone 2.0 at the moment, and have the MiruMod RF kit with a DX6i. I'm just wondering if anyone knows the easiest way to get the Phantom to work with my DX6i?

    Is it a simple replacement of the Rx, or will I need to do some programming?

    Also, I've spring-loaded the left-hand joystick. Should I undo this? Seems like the videos of the Phantom have the left stick pointing downwards as default?

    Cheers!
    Dom.
     
  2. Kakou67

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2013
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,

    The phantom comes with a 6 channels radio already.
    Should you still wish to fly with your DX6i, it's a matter of replacing the receiver in the phantom.
     
  3. DomKane

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ah great stuff thanks! Does anybody know how easy/hard that is? Is it just a case of swapping the hardware, or will I need to program anything?
     
  4. kesnim

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    S.Holland.Lincs.UK
    I have a DX6i and asked the same questions. You need to change the RX in the Phantom to the relevant Spektrum one, and then Bind them. My dealer offered to do it, but would need my DX6i, so he could do the binding, which has to be done before re-assembling the Phantom body. Have not decided at present, as I am quite happy with the supplied TX.
     
  5. tanasit

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    554
    Likes Received:
    2
    Most people would go for the DX8i because with the additional channels, you can set the RTH via the Tx and reset to regain the control without doing: throttle down, power ON, throttle half way, GPS to ATTI (and some time back to GPS). ANd the other channel for dual GAIN setting.
    The DX6i won't give you the above advantages but you will get a better range, especially when you go for the dual RX.
     
  6. Eik

    Eik

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. DomKane

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cardiff, UK
    Ah cheers, yeah I saw that rcgroups one but there was no mention of the DX6i, but I guess if you don't get all the features then that makes sense really.

    I'll probs stick to the standard TX to start I think. :)
     
  8. Eik

    Eik

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2013
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    The stock tx work good, but I'd love to have the ability to trigger rth on the controller, so im probably switching to a DX8 this week.

    One of my phantoms arms are kinda bent too, but it still flies fine. I still decided to replace the phantom shell with the F450 frame, since I can't seem to find anyone selling the spare shells. (that have them in stock.)

    Will put together a thread about my progress when I get the stuff :)